Ramona and other great characters

23 Jul

Is anyone else really excited about the Ramona movie?  I’m beyond jealous of all my friends who are posting on Facebook that they plan to see the movies with their daughter.  I would love to have a daughter and take her to see it and share Ramona with her.  I remember when I discovered the books in the school library and I loved them so much.  I remember (so clearly!) thinking that it was so brilliant when took one bite out of every apple because the first bite of the apple was the best.

It makes me think about how badly I want a daughter so that I can share all the great books I loved with her. Gosh, I hope when (and if) I have a daughter that she’s a reader. She’d love Ramona.  And Anne of Green Gables.  Do you remember in You’ve Got Mail when the bookshop is closing and the woman is talking to Meg Ryan.  And she tells her that her mom told her to read Anne of Green Gables with a box of tissues and I always end up crying too thinking that you absolutely need a box of tissues for Anne of Green Gables.  Because that part when Anne is complaining that what Matthew really needed was a boy to help on the farm and he tells her that boy didn’t win the scholarship, a girl did and it was her.  God, it makes me bawl every time.  Even more than when Matthew dies.

And The Westing Game and Turtle!  What a fun and awesome book and so great to reread afterwards to see if you can figure it all out!  And The Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler.  I so wanted to run away to a museum and every time I look at furniture displays in museums, I think about that book.

I guess it doesn’t matter if it’s a girl or a boy – I just hope they like to read and will love the books that I loved too.

2 Responses to “Ramona and other great characters”

  1. NGS July 25, 2010 at 10:34 pm #

    Sara Crewe from A Little Princess. Francie Nolan from A Tree Grows in Brooklyn. Along with Nancy Drew, the girls from the Babysitters Club, the stupid and vacuous Wakefield twins from Sweet Valley High, Anne and Romona, these were the girls of my childhood. Now that I think about it, I guess it’s not too unusual that I didn’t have any real friends!

  2. Stephanie August 2, 2010 at 9:55 pm #

    I want to see Ramona too! Whenever PBS has the Anne marathon, I HAVE TO WATCH! I was just searching today for a book for my 8 year old nephews. I want them to love to read but they are at that weird age where the books are too young or too old.

    I am not a mother but I love this quote: “Making the decision to have a child – It’s momentous. It is to decide forever to have your heart go walking around outside your body.”- Elizabeth Stone

    You have a big heart!

What do you think?

