Vaca

5 Aug

We just got back from a vacation to Italy. It was amazing. We went with some friends and we saw so much.   I had already been to Italy but it was 14 years ago and in high school. I was really dumb back then and barely paying attention to the sites.  Mostly paying attention to boys.  So even though many sites were recognizable (and I found myself recalling various tidbits throughout the trip), it was a lot of new stuff too.  We were mainly stationed in Florence and Rome and did some day trips as well. (Which I feel describes everyone’s vacations to Italy – maybe add a Venice in there too.)

If we went back, I would definitely just go back and do a week in Tuscany alone travelling to all the smaller towns there and visiting vineyards. It was so beautiful. Like something you’d see in a movie.  You wouldn’t believe it all really looks like that. You almost feel like you’re driving by a bunch of backdrops. It’s that picturesque. 

You’re supposed to feel rested after vacations, right? I never do. We just go go go and see everything there is to see.  We wake up early and go to bed late and eat a lot and walk a lot more and when I get back, I’m ready for a week at the beach.  At one point in the Vatican, I was making my husband promise that our next vacation would be one where the only walking I did was from my room to the pool to the beach to the restaurant. 

Even so, I’m glad we went. It was an amazing time and we got so many great pictures and we did so many fun things and I wouldn’t have missed it for the world.  And in a way, it’s a blessing that our try last month didn’t work because I don’t think I would have been able to do as much if I was pregnant.

One Response to “Vaca”

  1. Stella M. August 8, 2010 at 7:21 am #

    Hi Anna!
    I read your comment on Oh hay, it’s KK.
    I am very happy you liked your holiday in Italy.
    Another nice area is Ligury: Cinque Terre (especially Monterosso), Santa Margherita and Camogli are pictoresque and colourful maritime villages.
    I will be reading your blog. Have a nice Sunday!
    Ciao! 🙂

What do you think?

