Friendship

8 Aug

I had lunch with an old friend that I hadn’t seen in years.  We’ve been exchanging birthday and Christmas cards throughout the years and emails here and there. Enough that we know the details of each other’s lives in broad strokes.  She was passing through the area (she lives a few states away) and had emailed to ask if I was free for lunch and of course I jumped at the chance to meet up with her while she was here. 

It’s funny how you don’t really talk to someone for a long time but given the chance to reconnect, you’ll do it. I didn’t even think of saying no.  And we chatted and caught up and of course the time flew by far too quickly and the funny thing is that we didn’t do that thing at the end that you usually do.  The “oh my gosh, we have to do this more often…”  or  something along those lines.  It was almost like – ok, we know we’ll probably stay in touch about the same as we have been and next time an opportunity like this comes along, we’ll get together and that’s ok.  That’s enough.  We’ve drifted and have new friends and new lives but that doesn’t mean we have to drift apart completely.

I always envied guys because I thought it was easier for them to have these kinds of friendships. I knew guys freshman year of college that had been randomly matched up with a roommate and they stayed roommates all four years.  Not that they were best friends or really had anything that much in common. Usually they hung out in different crowds but they got along and it was easy to live with that person, so why not.  I never got that back then but now I do. Especially after seeing my own friendships crash and burn after being roommates with someone.  Sometimes you don’t need that much time with someone and it can ruin a friendship!

But now I realize that there are different levels of friendship.  And while there are days I miss the friendships I had in high school where you could spend all day with someone and still want to spend more time on the phone with them later, I realize that you can take joy even in the chance meetings of casual friendships too.

One Response to “Friendship”

  1. Stella M. August 9, 2010 at 5:38 am #

    Oh, I love how you described high-school friendships. Your words reminded me of hours on the phone talking about things which seemed sooo pivotal at the time. Ehm, ehm…
    I’m happy that your friend had the chance to stop by. I think it is nice when, although two friends haven’t seen each other in a while, they still manage to reconnect. Like distance doesn’t matter that much.

What do you think?

