“I knew you were likely to take a wife”

9 Aug

How is it that even though I’ve seen the episode of Friends where Monica and Chandler get engaged multiple times and yet I still start crying everytime Chandler walks into the apartment and it’s all lit up with candles and Monica says, “you wanted it to be a surprise” and Joey gives Chandler a look and closes the door.  Without fail,  you could show me just that snippet of the episode and I would cry as if I was getting engaged. 

I love when she starts crying and says, “There’s a reason girls don’t do this.” And he gets down on his knee and says he’ll do it. Oh my gosh, gets me every time. 

Maybe it’s because I’m PMSing.  That could also explain the two ice cream sandwiches I’ve eaten today!

2 Responses to ““I knew you were likely to take a wife””

  1. Erin Wolverton August 9, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

    Ha, that’s a great episode. But actually, my favorite Chandler proposal was the time he proposed to apologize.

    “Chandler, why are you doing this?”
    “Because I’m sorry?”
    “Do you really think being sorry is the best reason to get married?”
    “No, the best reason to get married is pregnancy. Being sorry is fourth, behind being ready, and actually wanting to get married. Will you be my wife?”

    And I just did all that from memory. Geez.

  2. Stella M. August 10, 2010 at 5:58 am #

    There has never been an episode of Friends I didn’t like. I think it remains unparalleled to all other comedies, although Scrubs was original and hilarious in its own way.
    I have always been a Ross/Rachel shipper — unless they were ON A BREAK, of course. Haha. 🙂
    That said, Chandler’s proposal was all kinds of awesome, I agree!

    @ Erin: Thank you so much for typing that classic-Chandler quote!

What do you think?

