Overspending at Target

10 Aug

What is is about shopping at Target that makes you want to spend money like crazy?  I walk in for one item, like toilet paper, and end up leaving with scrapbooking supplies, greeting cards for holidays months away, candles, candy, cute notepads, and I forget the toilet paper!

I manage to take 2 minute trip and turn into a 45 minute dawdle through the store buying random things and picking up As Seen on TV items and contemplating them.  There is something about those aisles that is so welcoming and makes me want to wander further and further into the store and look for more items.   I’m sure that’s on purpose.  From the displays at the front to the way the store is laid out, I’m sure they mean to make sure you go as far into the store as possible to buy as much as you can.

And I fall for it every time. Somehow I convince myself that I need a new tablecloth or cute plastic dishes for every holiday known to man (even though I can’t even remember to put out seasonal dishtowels).   And now I end up buying dog toys that I stumble upon, since the little monster chews through them in 10 seconds flat.  Also, if you’re looking to make some money – buy some stock in the company that make Nature’s Miracle stain and odor remover.  The way these two animals are ruining my house, I will be buying it by the gallon.  From the cat’s marking his territory to the dog’s accidents and blood loss from teething, I have been using a ton!

2 Responses to “Overspending at Target”

  1. Stella M. August 11, 2010 at 3:28 am #

    It’s exactly the same when I go to the stationary store. I head there in order to buy two pens and one book-note and yet I manage to buy tons of things I totally don’t need.
    As for the aforementioned seasonal dishtowels, the Christmas ones are lovely.
    Having a cat and a dog must be a lot of work. Anyway, they should get on with each other as long as they grow up together — or, at least, that’s what I read somewhere.

  2. lesli August 15, 2010 at 8:52 pm #

    Yes, Target – it sucks me in every time! And I definitely “dawdle” while there–so many shiny objects to catch my eye. And I am usually enchanted by the dog clothes especially the ones for girl dogs & my dog is a boy!

What do you think?

