Eat at four new places in Philly.

18 Aug

60. Eat at four new places in Philly. (New to me, not new to the city.) (2 down, 2 to go.)

I ate at Amada recently, which is a tapas restaurant from the new Iron Chef, Jose Garces.  The food was amazing.  I ate there at lunch and they had an “express lunch” so we did that instead of tapas.  It was a choice of either a soup and salad or a soup and sandwich.  I chose a soup and sandwich combo and it was heavenly.  I started with the tomato gazpacho with avocado ice cream.  It was made with yellow tomatoes and was very flavorful.  The avocado ice cream in the middle of the soup was the perfect complement. I could have eaten two bowls of that instead of the sandwich.  But then the sandwich came.  Oh. The sandwich.

I chose the skirt steak sandwich with caramelized onions, blue cheese and tomato. It was a perfect combination.  The onions and blue cheese were perfect with the steak and the bread was crusty but not too crusty.  It came with fries with a spicy sauce but I barely touched those because the sandwich was so good.  And of course this meal wouldn’t be complete without a glass of sangria. (Spell check doesn’t recognize sangria.  I think spell check leads a sad sad life.)

My friend and I decided to split a dessert  since we were full and couldn’t finish a whole one by ourselves.  We split a dark chocolate custard with berries and raspberry sorbet. It was like a mini creme brulee but not in a ramekin and it was dark chocolate.  The top was caramelized and it was in a berry sauce which I could have eaten with just berries alone. I was really happy with our meal there. I would gladly go back for the tapas for dinner!

The second restaurant I tried was more of a fast food place and it was a chain but I’m counting it.  We hit Bobby Flay’s Burger Palace for lunch.  It was great.  The only issue is that it’s on a college campus so it’s bound to be crowded during the school year which is a shame.  I had the Crunchburger which was a burger with double american cheese and potato chips.  I didn’t even add ketchup. It didn’t need it.  The burger was moist and flavorful and WHY DID I NEVER THINK OF ADDING CHIPS TO BURGERS BEFORE?  This idea is sheer genius.  We also split an order of fries and onion rings and there were a variety of condiments on the table.  My husband is all about sauces so he loved that. 

We also split a black and white milkshake because milkshakes fill me up so much that I never want my meal afterwards.  Mistake. HUGE mistake.  I should have gotten my own.  One of the best milkshakes ever. It was thick and creamy and topped with homemade whipped cream.  I could have had four of them.  I will definitely go back here.  I’ll just have to work around when the students are on break!

3 Responses to “Eat at four new places in Philly.”

  1. Karen August 18, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    I’ve yet to be to Amada! My friend and I tried to go during Restaurant Week, but an hour after our reservation we were still waiting, so we left. But I loved Chifa, also by Garces!

    Have you been to Alma de Cuba? It’s a fave. And Mercato. If you need recommendations for your other two new-to-you restaurants, I have a ton 🙂

  2. Holli Johnson August 19, 2010 at 12:55 am #

    I really want to get my husband a Bobby Flay grilling cookbook!
    I LOVE chips on burgers. Actually, I love chips on sandwiches too… I just had cheetos on a ham sandwich for lunch today! 🙂 Delish!
    It’s a shame there are no Bobby Flay restaurants around Oregon!

  3. Stella M. August 19, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    Your post made me want to eat Spanish food stat. 🙂
    Tapas and paella… so good!

What do you think?

