Are people that insensitive?

20 Aug

Am I naive? I am still shocked when people make comments about my childlessness.  I know some of these people mean well but still, it’s really upsetting.

My aunt and I were talking about the puppy and I guess it was my own fault. I made a comment about how my friend compares my puppy to her toddler.  And my aunt said, “Well, wouldn’t you have been better off having a kid instead of getting a puppy then?” And she laughed.

Um, yeah.  I’ve been married for nearly 7 years.  I’m almost 32 years old.  Nope, it hasn’t occurred to me at this point in my life to start having kids yet.  Thank you so much for bringing it up! Had you not said that, I would have plum forgotten to have kids.  You’re right. I’ll return the puppy and get myself knocked up. I’m right on top of that.

Seriously?  People know that I love children.  People know that we own a home. I’ve been answering questions about baby making with “hopefully soon” at every family event for the past 4 years.  It hasn’t occurred to you that I might just be having some problems?  

I just don’t get the questions.  I don’t ask people when they had their last prostate exam or their last pap smear.  So why are they all up in my business down there?

5 Responses to “Are people that insensitive?”

  1. Jamie August 20, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

    People can be so rude and thoughtless sometimes. I’m sorry 😦

  2. Holli Johnson August 20, 2010 at 9:48 pm #

    Reading this made me tear up. I’m really sorry. People who don’t think before speaking make me angry.. and sad/hurt, and uncomfortable.

  3. Stella M. August 23, 2010 at 8:00 am #

    I’m sorry about what happened. 😦
    Sometimes relatives clearly do not get when it is time to shut put.

  4. Stella M. August 23, 2010 at 8:01 am #

    Sorry for the typo, I meant “Shut up”. 🙂

  5. FCblacksheep August 23, 2010 at 8:12 pm #

    Last prostate exam…hahaha…sorry…but could you imagine? I might give that a try sometime. You are so very, very right. People need to get a clue. Seriously. I’m really sorry.

What do you think?

