Strawberry Ice Cream

23 Aug

This weekend I finally busted out the ice cream maker that we got for our wedding. We have only used it twice in the last 7 years.  Insane, I know. It wasn’t my idea to register for it. And the hubs used it twice before getting bored.  But I’ve been seeing so many ice cream recipes posted lately that I finally busted out to give it a try!

I found a recipe for strawberry ice cream on Annie’s Eats which had a very odd ingredient.  Sour cream.  It reminded me of a snack my mom used to make me when I was little – basically strawberries with sugar sprinkled on top and then mixed with sour cream.  It was creamy and not too sweet and a great summertime snack.  This ice cream brought that taste right back home to me.  I loved it. It was the best strawberry ice cream I’ve ever had.  The taste of the fresh strawberries really came through and it wasn’t an overly sweet ice cream.  And the pink!!  To channel Steel Magnolias, it was the most glorious shade of pink!  And I don’t know why I haven’t been busting out ice cream in this ice cream maker more. It’s super easy and I can make whatever flavor I want without waiting for sale prices!

Recipe can be found here.  I highly recommend this site – every recipe I have tried has been fantastic!

One Response to “Strawberry Ice Cream”

  1. Stella M. August 24, 2010 at 5:15 am #

    Good for you!
    Recipes and photos look delicious. Electrical ice-cream maker seem pretty user-friendly. That’s good. I have had a homemade bread maker for ages and it is ridiculously difficult to decode, let alone use. Sometimes I wonder whether it is a lost tool from NASA or something.
    Anyway, homemade ice cream is so refreshing during summer. I pay indeed a visit to a good homemade ice-cream shop at least once a week.
    Ice-cream and fresh grapefruit juice are the only things that get me through summer heat!

What do you think?

