Call home to talk to my dad instead of just my mom.

31 Aug

43. Call home to talk to my dad instead of just my mom.

I haven’t been exactly doing this.  But then again, my dad and I have never been big talkers.  So, in the spirit of this list item, I have been trying to communicate with my dad more.  I got him on Facebook and he is my Facebook friend now.  He comments on my wall which I think is just adorable.  

Also, ever since I got the dog, we have been texting and emailing more because he likes to ask questions about the puppy.  I think he really is an animal guy at heart but we never got a pet because my mom didn’t want one.  He’s always asking about the puppy.  Even though we’re not talking on the phone, we are communicating more than ever.  I know that makes him happy.  Especially now that he has the iPad.  I email him pictures of the puppy and he really likes that.  Then he can show my mom what I emailed him and is impressed that he can show my mom something instead of her always telling him about me.

I know that there are blogs dedicated to being upset that your parents can email or text or Facebook.  And yeah, I definitely think a little bit more about what I post on Facebook now that my dad is my friend.  All my little cousins are my friends too.  But they are in high school and college now so they are not so little anymore.  But I get a kick of him being on there and seeing the pictures I post and being able to know the little things that are going on instead of just the broad strokes. It cracks me up now when he asks how the cake I bake turned out. Or how my lunch with a friend was.  These are things that he never would have known about before because I just wouldn’t have mentioned them in an occasional conversation.

2 Responses to “Call home to talk to my dad instead of just my mom.”

  1. Stella M. September 5, 2010 at 12:57 pm #

    Oh, I love this post. I am sure your Dad is very happy about your efforts to communicate with him more than you used to.
    The key is finding some shared interests and good communication means, like Internet, I guess.
    Well done! 🙂

  2. Elisa March 15, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    This is why I love Facebook. It helps me connect with those that I WANT to connect with. Without actually having to TALK to them.

    Brilliant.

    (found you surfing)

What do you think?

