Conflicting Emotions

7 Sep

We were sitting in the waiting room at the RE’s office and there was a girl waiting at the check in desk for someone to stop by. (It was a weekend so the office staff wasn’t there.)  When a nurse stopped by, she asked for a doctor.  The nurse told her that the doctor on call was downstairs at the IVF center doing a transfer and she could go down and talk to him when he was done. 

When I heard that the doctor was doing a transfer, I got all happy for the person who was getting the transfer done. I thought – how exciting for them!  They must be so excited and they could potentially be pregnant this month!  So tell me why do I feel so happy for a total stranger?  But when my friends tell me they are pregnant, I have to struggle to have a happy reaction sometimes?

Maybe it’s because I know this stranger who is going through IVF is having just as hard a time of it as me whereas most of my friends get pregnant very easily?   And I don’t want to sound like I’m not happy for my friends. I am.  It’s just that I feel that pang of jealousy that makes it hard for me to be happy right away.

Sometimes I really feel like a terrible person.

One Response to “Conflicting Emotions”

  1. Stella M. September 9, 2010 at 7:54 am #

    You shouldn’t feel bad about it. I mean, you can’t “decide” your immediate reactions when you get some news. And, yes, I think it’s easier to sympathise with strangers who are getting through similar issues like you than with friends who maybe are not having any trouble in that specific field.

What do you think?

