Musical Montage

16 Sep

Maybe if I had a defining moment  in my life, it would be easier for me to have a musical montage where I turn my life around like they do in movies. I asked my husband what it would take to have a musical montage in my life.  He told me to break down crying in front of a mirror and then look up at the mirror as the music begins with a determined look in my eyes and the rest would go from there.

I mean, he’s right.  That’s totally how my musical montage would start.  But, I just want it to happen. I want to skip the hard parts and zoom right into the part where my life is different.  It’s part of my lacking motivation right now.  I just want to jump to the easy part of it all and have it be different.  I want to fast forward into the future and know that it’s all going to be alright. 

God, just typing this … I realize how pathetic I sound.  There are people out there suffering.  Really suffering.  Not knowing where their next meal will come from.  Not knowing whether they will live to see another day, week month.  And here I sit, overanalyzing my life, feeling sorry for myself because I have anxiety and whining about life that most people would probably describe as cushy. 

I think I need to add a dose of perspective to my dose of motivation.

2 Responses to “Musical Montage”

  1. Stella M. September 17, 2010 at 8:06 am #

    I don’t think you’re doing anything wrong. If thinking about your life is what you feel like doing right now, just do it. Maybe you just need some time to snap out of this negative period.
    By the way, I love musical montages. The funniest ever was in an episode of Friends: It was the one where Joey moved out from his and Chandler’s flat. Basically, at the end of the episode, the music started playing and Chandler was dramatically looking at the rain pouring down. And so seemed Joey. Of course it turned out Joey was just looking at the crystal fish bowl, haha.

  2. FCblacksheep September 17, 2010 at 11:47 am #

    Listen, here’s I look at the whole self-pity thing. Everyone has the right to get a bit down, angry, dissatisfied whatever with their life from time to time. Because there’s usually a reason for you to feel that way. Yes, things could be a lot worse but they could also be a lot better too, right? I always say it’s OK to not be OK and nothing’s wrong with wanting to skip the hard parts. The important thing is that you don’t stay stuck in the wallowing. Have some good old-fashioned self-pitying and then make a plan for how to feel better.

    And I’d much prefer theme music. It stays with all the time and adjusts based on the current mood. I requested my own theme music for Christmas but never got it.

What do you think?

