Moving on

20 Sep

Ok, no more pity party.  Yes, the test was negative but all I can do is move forward and figure out what to do next.  Can’t sit around feeling sorry for myself.  It’s depressing my husband, it’s depressing my friends and it’s depressing me.  Not to mention, I can’t imagine how annoying it must be to live with me.

So… moving on… next item of business… the random thoughts bouncing around my mind.

We went to visit my family this weekend we brought the puppy with us.  Can anyone say chaos?  He jumps on everyone!  He jumps on me but I can usually stop him.  But I can’t get him to stop jumping on others.  He just gets so excited to play with new people.  I don’t know how to calm him when he gets in that state.  The Dog Whisperer says to calm him before he escalates to that state but I don’t know how to do that either!

Lucky for me, he slept for about half of both the drive there and back.  On the way back, I took a little nap as well and I dreamed about sleeping.  What does that say about how much I love sleep that I dream about taking a nap?  That’s just not right.  But I do so love to sleep.  Naps are my favorite.  It feels so nice to turn the tv on low and cuddle up on the couch underneath a comfy blanket and just drift off to sleep. 

I feel like I used to have more time in the day.  In college, I would sleep in, take a nap and still have a ton of time left in the day.  Even on weekends when I graduated, I would sleep til 10, eat breakfast, do a few things and then take a nap and then get on with the rest of my day.  Of course, those days, I would also leave my house at 9 pm to get together with friends.  If I ever suggested that now, my friends would think I was nuts.  Back then, if you went out before 9, you were heading to an empty and boring bar.  Now, if I take a nap, I feel like my entire day is gone. 

The air is so cool today. I know it’s going to get warmer but when I took the puppy for a walk, it was so refreshing.  Fall is finally coming – although it will turn into winter too soon for me. I love fall. Fall feels more like my New Year to me than the New Year does.  I think I’ve said that before.  The back to school kind of clean slate. I even felt a bit of motivation while I was outside earlier but it vanished as soon as I logged on to the internet and started reading what people thought of Mad Men last night. 

I have an interview tomorrow and I’m not sure what to wear. I have one suit and it’s an interview at a company I’ve already interviewed at.  So I’ve already worn the suit.  It’s not a second interview though. It’s just a different interview with another group.  I’m having trouble finding another suit that fits me well.  I’m overweight and well endowed and the bigger size jackets fit me around the chest but are too long in the arms and the shoulders make me look like a football player.  I’m figuring since it’s a different group, then maybe I can just wear my one suit again with another shirt and deal with it.  Last time, I felt so uncomfortable in the suit (because I thought I looked bad), that I ended up taking the jacket off midway through the interview.  It was boiling hot though so I had an excuse.  Now the sensible thing would have been to immediately get the jacket altered so it fit correctly to be prepared for the next time.  But I didn’t do that.

In my field, I’ve seen people interview in just a nice outfit and not necessarily a suit. I’m half considering wearing my suit skirt and a nice black shirt and going to the interview in that.  I’d feel comfortable that I look normal in that but I don’t know how comfortable I’d feel not being in a suit on an interview.  If only I was a size four like I used to be in my first round of interviews where I knew I rocked the look of the suit.  I guess I’ll just have to hit the mall one more time and see what I can find!

One Response to “Moving on”

  1. Stella M. October 2, 2010 at 5:54 am #

    I’m happy you’re feeling better! Keep it up, Anna!
    As for naps, I can’t take naps because, then, I can’t bring myself to get up and continue what I have to do. Besides, afterwards, I can’t sleep at night.
    Your puppy must give you a lot of work, but I’m sure it is worth it because pets are so funny and sweet.
    I agree, the choice of outfit is pivotal as you prepare for a job interview.

What do you think?

