I got it!

28 Sep

I got the job! Unfortunately, now I’m in the middle of my least favorite part about getting a job – the negotiations. Seriously, I don’t get why they can’t just offer their top offer and you can say yes or no. I hate this back and forth and trying to figure out if you’re getting screwed because the next person haggles better than you and gets a better title and salary even though they have less experience. So stressful. So, hopefully it works out to something we are both happy with and I can be employed again.

It’s funny, though. Lately, I’ve been getting tired of being at home.  I’ve been feeling bored. Even though there is a lot to do around the house, I don’t like doing any of that stuff and I don’t want to do any of it.  I’m feeling lazy.  However, the minute they told me that they wanted me and proposed a start date, I started panicking.  “NO! It’s too early. I haven’t had enough time at home.  I love being at home.”  I guess it’s all about perspective!

6 Responses to “I got it!”

  1. NGS September 28, 2010 at 10:49 am #

    Congrats!! It’s so exciting to start a new gig!!

  2. Erin Wolverton September 28, 2010 at 3:44 pm #

    Yeah, congrats! That “best of luck to you,” didn’t sound at all promising, but I guess it was a good sign!

    I had two months of unemployment recently and I didn’t accomplish anything. Tons of projects I could have been doing, tons of books to read, but mostly I watched a lot of Law and Order reruns. Now I get more done in that hour or so after I get home from work than I used to get done in an entire unemployed day. I’m never been good at perpetuating my own motivation. How I made it through grad school I’ll never know.

  3. FCblacksheep September 28, 2010 at 8:47 pm #

    Congratulations! Fabulous news.

  4. Preppy Pink Crocodile October 1, 2010 at 3:52 pm #

    Big big congratulations!! Hopefully everything is settled and squared away and you can enjoy your weekend!

  5. Stella M. October 2, 2010 at 6:04 am #

    Yay! Congratulations, Anna!
    Hopefully negotiations will be done soon enough. I hope you like this new job and that your coworkers are nice people.
    Yes, you made an interesting point. Staying at home sounds good again, as soon as you don’t have to stay there all day long.

  6. babybaker October 8, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

    congrats! even though it sucks, negotiate hard! women all too often under negotiate. 🙂

    p.s. thank you for your comments on my blog. means a lot. good luck to you!

What do you think?

