Testing, testing

13 Oct

What is it about being drug tested that makes me feel as though I’ve done something wrong?  I went for my pre-employment drug screen today.   I was so nervous.  I have never done an illegal drug in my entire life.  There is nothing to fear.  Yet I get all panicky when I get in there!

First, they make you lock up your purse.  So, I feel like some sort of pee smuggler.  Then they turn off the water to the room even after telling that you’re not allowed to flush or wash your hands.  Because what? I might have concentrated urine in my pocket that I want to dilute down?  Then she had to squirt soap onto my hands because they don’t keep soap in the room either.  It all seems nuts to me but then again I’ve never had to think about faking a drug test sample so maybe that is why I am unclear about the water thing.

And even though I had nothing at all to worry about, the feeling of relief when I left the place was palpable! I’m winding down to my last days of freedom.  I can’t believe I’m going back to work on Monday. It seems far too soon and I’m starting to get anxious!

2 Responses to “Testing, testing”

  1. Karen October 15, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    I get the same exact feeling when there are police cars behind me in traffic, or if I pass them while driving. Doesn’t matter if I’m obeying traffic laws, it still makes me paranoid! Good luck with your new job!

    (PS: I can’t believe you caught the episode of the OC with my blog title! Jealous. It’s such a great one. “Her clothes teach you to change your perspective”)

  2. Stella M. October 16, 2010 at 6:15 pm #

    Police cars in traffic scares me as well. Even if I didn’t do anything wrong.
    Good look, Anna, for the new job! I’m sure you’re going to be great. 🙂

What do you think?

