Day 4 – Your parents

20 Oct

My parents are so great.  They have been married for 33 years and are really happy and committed to each other.  They are a great role model for marriage.

They were really strict when I was growing up. I had a very early curfew.  I had to call if I was going to be a minute late.  I had to check in with them when I got home to make sure I was home at the right time.  I wasn’t allowed to wear makeup til I was sixteen.  Not that it ever really came up, but I probably wasn’t allowed to date til I was 18.  I had to study all the time.  When I was working out my class schedule in 7th grade, choir and Latin conflicted.  I was forced to take Latin.  But I’m grateful for it all.  They raised me with good values.  They raised me to respect people and to treat people with kindness.  I am so appreciative for all they did for me.  While they were strict, there was very little I wanted for.  They bought me clothes and bikes and stereos and I got my own phone line in my room in high school.  And we had lots of fun.  We had such fun nights out when we’d go out to dinner.  And we’d have our movie rental nights and we’d rent two movies.  And in between the two movies my mom would say, “Should we have a party?” And we’d say yes and she’d go whip up sandwiches and sodas and popcorn and other treats.  It was so fun. 

I had a great family growing up and I’m so grateful for it.

3 Responses to “Day 4 – Your parents”

  1. CW October 20, 2010 at 5:39 pm #

    oh your family sounds lovely. I think sometimes IF is harder when you had such a wonderful upbringing and you want to be able to pass it down to your children. Whipping up a party in between movies sounds devine. I think I might schedule a bit of that for next week!

  2. Preppy Pink Crocodile October 22, 2010 at 12:13 am #

    Sounds like you have awesome parents! I hope to be like that one day. Strict but fun and loving at the same time!

  3. Stella M. October 23, 2010 at 6:33 am #

    Being strict but knowing how to have fun sounds to me like a wonderful way to bring up a family. Your parents rock, so do movie rental nights (as far as I’m concerned!)

What do you think?

