Day 5 – Your siblings

22 Oct

I have one brother and he is four years younger than me.  We fought constantly when we were little.  Like cats and dogs.  We would be so violent that I’m sure my mom wondered if we were nuts.  And he was  mean little booger.  He brought my diary to school one day! And all his friends laughed at me when I went to pick him up from school. 

A miraculous thing happened when I went away to college.  The distance helped us stop fighting so much.  (Also, the not sharing a phone line and not sharing a computer with the only internet access in the house.)  We watched stupid movies together and I realized he is not such an annoying little booger after all.  He came up and stayed with me the first few nights I moved to a new city.  He’s let me borrow money.  He makes me snacks when I’m hungry and whiny.  He emails me crazy articles that he thinks I’ll be interested in.  He tells me what stupid iPhone games I’ll like.

We’re not best friends by any stretch.  But we get along and he loves hanging out with the hubs.  They are really great friends and I love that.  We fight. Especially when I pull my tough love act on him.  But I love having him in my life and couldn’t imagine it without him. 

And an entry about my siblings couldn’t go posted without talking about my sister-in-law.  I always wanted a sister.  I wanted someone who I could go shopping with.  Someone who I had a shorthand way of communication with.  Someone I can chat with about girly things and not feel dumb.  And I had to wait like 25 years to get her but I did.  We weren’t fast friends.  There was a period of feeling each other out. And we’ve had some huge fights.  Even so, I consider her one of my best friends and I love her just like we had grown up together.

2 Responses to “Day 5 – Your siblings”

  1. Stella M. October 23, 2010 at 6:33 am #

    Sometimes distance is useful, I guess.
    It’ nice you got the sister you have always wanted. It might have taken some time, but still I think it was worth waiting. 🙂

  2. FCblacksheep October 24, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    Wow, your story about your brother is near identical to mine, right down to the age difference. He’s four years younger than me and we fought non stop. He didn’t take my diary to school but he did tear a page and read it in the alley (which was the hangout spot when we were young). A page that happened to profess my love for a kid down the street. Yikes. We don’t talk everyday now but we keep in fairly good touch. If something is going on in one of our lives, we’ll be sure to reach out and give our support and we joke and get along at holidays and family events just fine. Plus he and Blue get along really well so we do see them specially from time to time. Glad you finally got the sister you always wanted. It’s not a real sister without a few big fights. Trust me.

What do you think?

