Day 9 – A picture of your friends

29 Oct

This is a hard one to do.  My friends don’t even know this space exists! There is no way I’m going to post a picture of them without permission.  Why did I agree to do this if I’m changing all the rules?  I’ve already begun though, so I might as well finish. Rule changes and all.

So I will paint you a picture with my words.  I will try to describe some of my friends.

My closest friend right now is a friend I’ve known for 18 years.  We met through a mutual friend in high school and we both thought we hated each other.  I guess it was because we were both friends with this one girl and we felt like we were competing? Who knows? I don’t know how it happened but one day we hung out one on one and had an amazing time.  And we were friends ever since.  I can tell her the most ridiculous, embarrassing things that I think in my brain but only would tell my husband.  She was who I talked to when we were navigating the world of boys and all the physical stuff that came with that.  I was the person she talked to when she felt she couldn’t figure out what to do with her life.  We drifted apart for a little while but we were always important to each other. Eventually we reconnected and our friendship is as close as it has ever been.  I can tell her everything about my cycles and she talks me down when I tell her crazy things. Like when I convince myself that eggs are dying off of one bad test result.  Or when I convince myself that my life will be over if I can’t have kids.  She makes sure I am putting my big girl panties on when I’m whining about things I have no place to be whining about.  Without her I wouldn’t be sane.

One of my other best friend’s I’ve mentioned her before is my sister-in-law.  She and I have so much in common.  We love to shop and often buy the same things unknowingly.  (And sometimes knowingly.)  We can talk about family and family things in our own shorthand and understand the dread of holidays sometimes knowing what is coming.  We text each constantly about silly things we see that remind us of each other.  And we support each other when things get hard.  We fight sometimes, but we are there for each other no matter what happens in our lives.

There are other friends I can write about but I’m tired and I’ll just have to do a post 30 day post to talk about them.

One Response to “Day 9 – A picture of your friends”

  1. Stella M. October 30, 2010 at 7:29 am #

    This is so much better than a picture in my opinion.
    I think it’s nice you are doing this 30-days thing on your own terms.
    Have a great week-end! 🙂

What do you think?

