Day 11 – Favorite tv shows

1 Nov

Where do I begin?  My DVR is constantly full.  I watch tv shows like I watch movies.  I don’t mind if they’re crappy. In fact, if they are about high school or vampires, I’m in.  Even better if they’re about both!  And my biggest problem is that once I start watching a show, I have to see it through.  I’m still watching One Tree Hill even though I’m tired of the storylines! They keep renewing it so I have to keep watching it. 

My favorite show on tv now is Mad Men.  It’s the first show I will watch when I have it on DVR and I usually try to watch it live.  I love feeling immersed in a different time period.  It’s hard to imagine living in those days where as soon as I have kids, I would have to stay home instead of work.   I wonder did people realize what kind of time they were living in?  Did they realize what the civil rights movement would lead to?  Some people complain that the storylines are boring and move too slowly.  But I love that.  Life sometimes moves slowly and I feel like we are getting a tidbit of their lives in the 60s when watching the show.

My husband and I don’t often agree on tv shows (he won’t watch most of the things I watch) but we can agree on the sitcoms.  How I Met Your Mother, Modern Family, Community, 30 Rock and The Office.  Those are the shows we watch together.  It’s nice because they’re all 30 minutes a piece so it doesn’t take a very long time commitment.  We DVR them and watch them as we eat dinner.  They’re light and they make us laugh and are a good way to unwind at the end of the day.

Most of the time though, my husband can’t take watching what I watch.  It’s because I enjoy those teeny bopper shows like One Tree Hill, Gossip Girl, Vampire Diaries, and worst of all the crappy stuff on ABC Family – like Secret Life of the American Teenager and Pretty Little Liars.  Those shows are simple and easy to watch and the drama is all so contrived and silly.  It’s easy to get lost in a world of gossip and not care about reality.

What did I tell you? I watch a lot of tv. I don’t even know if I’ve named half of what is on my DVR.  Lucky for DVR, I can record them all and watch them at my leisure whenever I get a chance.  And I can fast forward through the slow and boring parts.  I can watch an episode of General Hospital in about seven minutes sometimes!

One Response to “Day 11 – Favorite tv shows”

  1. Stella M. November 8, 2010 at 2:02 pm #

    I love Modern Family! It’s Friends and Scrubs-delicious.
    Mad Men might proceed slowly but it’s accurate, smart, ironic. In my opinion, a must-see.
    As for the teen tv-shows, I can’t help but watch Gossip Girl. No matter how far-fetched storylines get. By the way, have you see the last episode? Dan is so self-righteous that it’s not even funny. And CHair?!

What do you think?

