Day 15 – Bible verse

22 Nov

I’ve never been a highly religious person.  And lately, I haven’t felt very religious.  Instead of all these issues bringing me closer to God, I feel as though they’ve been pushing me further away.   But even when I was more religious, I can’t say I ever had favorite Bible verses.  So instead I’m going to use this “day” (let’s use this term loosely, I’ve been taking 30 years to complete these 30 days) to talk about some quotes I’ve pick up along the way.

I used to collect quotes and have books full of them but who knows where that has gone so I’m just going to post a few that have resonated with me lately.

”We must have a pie.  Stress cannot exist in the presence of a pie.” – David Mamet

”Let’s also say that change is neither good or bad. It simply is. It can be greeted with terror or joy: a tantrum that says, ‘I want it the way it was,’ or a dance that says, ‘Look, it’s something new.'” -Don Draper (Mad Men)

Stop. Just stop it. Today is the day. The moment is this one. Ignore the noise and people around you. Ignore the phone. Ignore black coffee. Ignore the clock.   The time to start being the person you always wanted to be is right now.  – http://pleasefindthis.blogspot.com/

Oh shut up. Every time it rains, it stops raining. Every time you hurt, you heal. After darkness, there is always light and you get reminded of this every morning but still you choose to believe that the night will last forever. Nothing lasts forever. Not the good or the bad. So you might as well smile while you’re here.  – http://pleasefindthis.blogspot.com/

“You think you’re waiting for help. For someone to tell you what the right thing to do is. Even though, at the back of your mind, you already know what that is. So all you’re really waiting for, is a time when you’re forced to do it.”  –  http://pleasefindthis.blogspot.com/

“Listen. To live is to be marked. To live is to change, to acquire the words of a story, and that is the only celebration we mortals really know. In perfect stillness, frankly, I’ve only found sorrow.” – Barbara Kingsolver

“You’re not a kid anymore. You have the right to choose your own life. You can start again. If you want a cat, all you have to do is choose a life in which you can have a cat. It’s simple. It’s your right.” – Haruki Murakami, The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle

Are you sensing a theme in these?

2 Responses to “Day 15 – Bible verse”

  1. Stella M. November 26, 2010 at 5:09 pm #

    “Listen. To live is to be marked. To live is to change, to acquire the words of a story, and that is the only celebration we mortals really know. In perfect stillness, frankly, I’ve only found sorrow.” – Barbara Kingsolver

    I love this one. So true. Thank you for posting these quotes.
    Ps. Don Draper forever!

  2. Holli November 26, 2010 at 8:30 pm #

    These quotes had me grinning from ear to ear. This is what I’ll have to do for this “day” too.. but yours beat anything I have, lol. Seriously, love them.

What do you think?

