Day 22 – Favorite city

29 Nov

Amsterdam.  Hands down.  But I’ve already covered that in the place I’ve travelled post.  So I’ll talk about my second favorite city.  Paris.  The city of light – and love.

Paris was the first trip to Europe that the hubs and I took together and it was perfect.  We had chocolate croissants for breakfast every morning and feasted for dinner every night.  We hit all the museums and climbed anything that you could climb (Arc d’Triomphe, Eiffel Tower (ok, we took the elevator) and Notre Dame).  We strolled on cobblestone streets and became experts at the Metro. We went down into the Catacombs, where I got throughly creeped out.  We got lost, we butchered the French language, we bought cheesy souvenirs, we ate LOTS  of cheese, we walked a lot and we had so much fun doing it together. 

It’s also where we first “officially” started trying for a baby and were going to name the baby something suitably French if it was conceived there.  I guess it wasn’t meant to be but that might be a good thing for that baby.  Who knows what that baby would have ended up being named!

2 Responses to “Day 22 – Favorite city”

  1. Honey B. November 30, 2010 at 8:55 am #

    That sounds amazingly romantic! I have a Trip to Europe on the Baby Bucket List, but we put it on there knowing that we might make it there. But my family are fairly recent immigrants (~60 years) from Italy and I will go there before I die!

  2. Stella M. December 18, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    Paris is amazing! I liked it over any other city, hands down. Though, NY, London, Chicago are wonderful cities as well.
    I can’t ever get bored to revisit Paris. I also love the French language, even though it is so difficult to pronounce. By the way, aren’t French cute when they speak English? It’s like they are talking French using English words. So lovely!
    As for the French names, I like Sophie and Richàrd. (Just in case, eh).

What do you think?

