2010 Year In Review

2 Jan

Let’s just pretend I finished the 30 day and haven’t not posted in over a month, shall we? I have no excuse for my absence other than craziness of the holidays and a big funk which resulted from a failed cycle due to bad counting of when I was supposed to come in for an ultrasound on the RE’s part.  And this cycle is being skipped because of a cyst so funk continues. 

1. What did you do in 2010 that you’d never done before?

Had sperm injected into me via catheter. 

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

No, I never keep them. I’m terrible.  But yes, I will probably make more this year.  And not just now.  I constantly resolve to be better all throughout the year.  I like to set myself up for failure as much as possible.  Right now I’m focused on organizing my life.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Just about everyone I know.  It’s been rough holding onto all those sweet babies while wishing for one of my own.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

No, thankfully.
5. What countries did you visit?

Italy.

6. What would you like to have in 2011 that you lacked in 2010?

To be pregnant.

7. What dates from 2010 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

The day we got our puppy.  The day of our first IUI. I think those are pretty self explanatory!

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Finding a new job. 

9. What was your biggest failure?

Not getting pregnant.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

No, thankfully.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

A puppy.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

Repeating my answer from last year: My husband’s. He has been a rock through this infertility process and he’s the one who should be more upset and need comforting. Instead I’m the one wailing about the end of the world and he’s comforting me.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

I don’t even want to go into it.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Our mortgage. Bills.  An absurd amount of eating out.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

SIL’s wedding. Starting IUI. Getting a puppy. 

16. What song will always remind you of 2010?

Is it bad that I have no freaking idea? I honestly can’t remember any music from this year. 

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder?
b) thinner or fatter?
c) richer or poorer?

Sadder, fatter and richer.  Well at least that’s one out of three so I’ve improved from last year!

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Being happier.  I’ve spent a lot of time wallowing.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Wallowing and complaining. I need to be more positive and upbeat!

20. How did you spend Christmas?
We hosted Christmas Eve for the hub’s family and went to my parent’s for Christmas Day.  We brought the puppers and he was spoiled rotten all day.

21. Did you fall in love in 2010?

With the big brown eyes of puppy?  Why yes I did!

22. What was your favorite TV program?

You’re joking, right? How do I pick just one? If I have to choose – Mad Men.

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

No.  I’m trying to avoid words like hate.  Although sometimes that’s hard!

24. What was the best book you read?

The Hunger Games trilogy.  Don’t care if it’s YA – I loved them!

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Am I old?  I seriously don’t remember any new music this year.

26. What did you want and get?

I didn’t even know I wanted it but the purse I got for Christmas from the hubs is amazing!!

27. What did you want and not get?

A baby.

28. What was your favorite film of this year?

Eclipse?  Oh God, that’s terrible, right? No really though, it’s the only movie I saw in the theater!

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I turned 32 and mourned my youth and prime baby making years.  I also went out to my favorite place for dinner. 

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

A baby.  Not losing my job.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2010?

All things Old Navy.

32. What kept you sane?

My family and friends.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Anderson Cooper.  Don’t know what my obsession is.  

34. What political issue stirred you the most?

Nothing. I was too consumed with myself to care about the real world. Pathetic, right?

35. Who did you miss?

A good friend who has grown ever distant.  She’s done it to a mutual friend as well so I know it’s not just me but it still hurts. 

36. Who was the best new person you met?

A new coworker.  She and I instantly clicked and she has made my new job a much easier transition. 

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010.

Sometimes you have to suck it up and do things you don’t want to do.  And it’s going to suck, but that’s being an adult. 

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

Sorrow’s my body on the waves
Sorrow’s a girl inside my cave
I live in a city sorrow built
It’s in my honey, it’s in my milk
– The National
 
I know it’s super depressing but those lines always stick in my head every time I hear that song. 
 
Here’s to a far happier 2011!

What do you think?

