Moving On

3 Jan

I’m trying to move on.  Trying to forget 2010 and all the pain that it caused and hope that 2011 brings better things my way.  And I realize that I can’t just sit around and hope that 2011 will be better.  I need to do something about it.  I need to adjust my attitude and move forward.  I don’t want to be miserable but I know some of the actions and reactions I had to things that happened last year just made me more miserable.  And I know that sometimes I found comfort in being miserable.  So much easier to wallow than to take action!

So I’m making an effort to be happy.  I’m trying not to stress too much about work.  I want to have a better work life balance. I’ve only been at this job for a few months and I’m already having nightmares about work.  That’s unnecessary.  I have to remember that sometimes it’s ok to meet expectations. I don’t always need to exceed them.  Especially when not exceeding them means I have more time to relax at home instead of constantly being a stress case at work.

I’m making an effort to be more organized too.  Our house is so cluttered that I’m constantly stressing about cleaning up and the house not being clean enough.  By getting rid of our junk, some of that stress will be eliminated.  Hopefully, it will be easier to keep the house clean if there’s less stuff around. 

I guess I just want to simplify things.  There already enough complication in life.  I need some simple things to balance it all out.

3 Responses to “Moving On”

  1. Holli January 3, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    I love this. I’m attempting to be happier this year as well. Only three days into 2011 and it’s already hard, haha, but I think it will be worth the effort. Simplifying sounds like a great idea.. I may just have to do a bit of that myself!

  2. Karan January 11, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

    This is such a good inspiration for the New Year! I took a bit of a blogging hiatus (both writing and reading) but this makes me happy to be back. Good luck with your organization and life-balance efforts! Don’t you feel physically better when your home is clean and organized?!! I know I do!

    And if you can’t get this stuff off the ground, laugh about it with people like Liz Lemon 😉

  3. Jackie January 18, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    I am trying to move on too. It is so damn hard though! Here’s hoping we can be happy and at peace with whatever 2011 throws at us 🙂

What do you think?

