Two spaces after a period

15 Jan

Did anyone else see this article on Slate?  The author talk about how using two spaces after a period “is totally, completely, utterly, and inarguably wrong.”  Apparently, typographically, it’s incorrect to use two spaces at the end of a sentence.

What? Since when?  I know I was in freshman high school typing class all the way back in 1992, where it was drilled into our heads that we need two spaces after a period (only one after a comma).  And the article implies that this changed way back before 1992 so are teachers just teaching us the wrong thing because they were taught that way? That’s what he says in the article.

I’m really disturbed by this.  I cannot type one space after a period.  It’s automatic.  I hit that space bar twice the minute my fingers hit a period.  I’m trying to stop it as I type this sentence and I can’t. There I just did it. That looks wrong. All my sentences are scrunched together.  No, I’m going back to the two space method.  The two space method is more aesthetically pleasing to me even though in the article he says it is not. 

Oh well, I guess I don’t care if it’s wrong. I’m not planning on stopping.  I wonder what MLA has to say about it? I could swear that’s why we did it.  Because of MLA rules?  But I never cracked the book unless I was looking up how to cite something so who knows?

Does anyone out there use one space?

5 Responses to “Two spaces after a period”

  1. NGS January 15, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    I use two. Proudly and unrepentantly.

  2. Michelle January 15, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

    2. and it’s automatic for me too. I don’t care what this article or these other people have to say. I’m keeping my 2.

  3. FCblacksheep January 15, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

    I have a journalism/professional writing background and I was never taught, have, or will ever use two spaces. I’m one all the way. Space in the newspaper biz is everything.

    But I say write the way you wish. Rules be damned.

  4. Cw January 15, 2011 at 6:20 pm #

    I think I was taught two but only use one space. It is bit like numbers when they changed it so you didn’t use commas to separate ’00s but I can’t write numbers like that! At least with blogging, for the most part, people can spell as forums are terrible and I end up cringing most times….

  5. chon (formerly cw) January 24, 2011 at 5:26 am #

    man this whole granting an award thing is taking forever and now I seem ungrateful. award – my blog – check it out champ – aka you rock hence the award and since you never finished your 30 things consider this more punishment!!

What do you think?

