Screening

1 Aug

This was supposed to be a post all about the Facebook announcement and how that all went. But instead, it’s a post about how the results came back from the sequential screen giving our baby a 1:34 chance of Down’s Syndrome.  My husband says it’s 3% and not to stress.  But I’m stressing.  We need to make an appointment with a genetic counselor to talk about what the results mean and what the next steps are.  Will there be any part of having a baby that comes easy for me?  Because I haven’t even posted about my fender bender and my trip to the ER yet.

3 Responses to “Screening”

  1. chon August 1, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    oh honey, I completely understand you being worried. It is so normal to be concerned. email me if you want to freak out, will freak with you and give you support. I hope the fender bender wasn’t too bad. big super australian hugs. xxxx

  2. FCblacksheep August 1, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    Oh for heaven’s sakes my dear. They really are setting the hurdles for you. I can’t imagine what’s running through your head right now and I wish I could just hug you. First, my doctor (and I’m sure yours covered this too) told me when we talked about the test that even if it came back with higher/lower (not sure what’s right here) odds that it was still really a slim chance and to not worry, but, of course, that’s easier said than done. Worrying is going to be first on the list. Second, my older sister’s results came back with really high chances for the first pregnancy and they opted for the amniocentesis. As it turns out, everything was fine. But it’s scary, so, so scary, and I’m so sorry you have to go through this. Wishing you all the best and hoping you get some good reassurance from the genetic counselor.

  3. Low Fat Lady August 2, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

    Oh gosh. Like you needed any more stress. I’m so sorry your having to deal with this. I have everything crossed that everything will turn out ok. Thinking of you!

What do you think?

