The word is out

3 Aug

First things first, I’m feeling a lot better about our sequential screen results.  I know now that I can’t change anything now.  Whatever will be, will be. We’ll meet with the genetic counselor and see what they have to say.   Hopefully, everything will be fine. But regardless of the outcome, this is our baby and we can’t wait to meet him or her.

 So, the word is out.  It’s official.  Once it’s on Facebook, the world knows.  I ended up not using the status I had posted last time.  Apparently, even though he’s not very active on Facebook, my husband had some definite opinions on what I was going to post.  He didn’t want to focus on the struggle. He wanted the focus to be on the happy news. So I ended up posting:  Blank and I are thrilled to announce that we are expecting our first child.  We feel incredibly blessed and are grateful for the love and support from our family and friends while we waited for this day.  It focused on the happy part of it yet acknowledged that this was a long time coming. 

We got only happy and congratulatory comments.   No one said anything about it taking forever.  And there were a few comments that implied that they understood how long our wait was and were happy we finally were there.  And those were from people who were unaware of our issues. 

So it really went better than I thought it would and everyone was very happy for us.  So now, I’m out.  It’s real. I’m pregnant and people know.  The fact that I can’t button my jeans anymore makes it even more real.  The Bella Band is helping but it’s kind of annoying because every time I stand up, I have to readjust it.  But I don’t think I’m quite there for maternity clothes yet.  I mean, it’s really not like I’m showing at all.  Well, I am.  But it’s so little.  It’s just that I’m already overweight so I just look a little fatter than I normally am.  And my nausea is starting to improve and I’m starting to have more of an appetite.  So things are going pretty well.  I’m trying to appreciate that and remind myself to count my blessings.

3 Responses to “The word is out”

  1. chon August 3, 2011 at 6:17 pm #

    Awww happy times 🙂

  2. E and R August 3, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    So glad it went well! I finally gave up on the band because I hated having to readjust it all the time – our OB gave the advice of buying stuff that will fit when I am 30 weeks – even though it will be loose now, it will fit later and no sense in buying new clothes all the time.

  3. Honey B. (@thehoneyb) August 6, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    I’m so glad it went well! Your FB post echoes everything I’ve ever worried about posting on FB, especially the reactions you never see…and being perfectly honest, despite what you see on my blog, I work really hard to keep my life private even though I like and participate in FB. I’m honestly not sure that I won’t be one of those people that just doesn’t say anything? Oh I don’t know…elghh, too many decisions!!

What do you think?

