Sleep

24 Oct

While I was in the hospital, I had no trouble sleeping.  The magnesium sulfate made me feel like a slug and I was always tired.  While I was on the magnesium, I was also on pain mediation that knocked me out.  While they were inducing me, I never had major contractions, I don’t think.  They certainly didn’t feel like what I thought contractions would feel like.  But who knows what contractions at 21 weeks 6 days are supposed to feel like? I constantly felt cramps, though, and apparently whimpered in my sleep.  So the pain medication helped me sleep.

Even after I was off the magnesium, I was able to sleep.  The Ativan helped.  Plus, they were waking me constantly to take my blood pressure and check on me.  I was tired of being woken so when they let me be, I slept.  I had nightmares the entire time.  I don’t remember them but I would wake up with a start.  But still, I slept.

When I got home, I was able to sleep.  I fell asleep fairly quickly.  And I would sleep for 12 hours a night.  Depression, I think.  Maybe the shock?  Maybe just the comfort of being in my own bed.  I did wake up with nightmares.  This time I was able to remember them.  I was always always lost.  I was wandering around in a school looking for a classroom, but the hallways of lockers all looked the same.  I was wandering around a town and I couldn’t find my way to the restaurant I was looking for.  I was dropped off in a strange city and I couldn’t find my way out.  I was in Philadelphia at my old job but I didn’t know how to find my way home.  I was always lost.  But still, I slept. I would wake up in a panic and almost instantly fall back asleep again.

Now, I don’t sleep as well.  Once I fall asleep, I can sleep for eight or nine hours.  That’s more sleep than I got before I was pregnant but closer to normal, especially for someone who isn’t working.  Falling asleep takes a while now though.  And I always have one false start.  I fall asleep and the next thing I know, my husband is shaking me awake. I’m talking or whining or yelling in my sleep.  I don’t remember those nightmares. Which I suppose I should be grateful for because it already takes me long enough to fall asleep the second time.

One Response to “Sleep”

  1. cinderelly October 24, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

    I’m sorry you are having such trouble with sleep.

    If it appeals to you, you should give this a try. http://www.welz.us/Autogenic.pdf
    It’s called Autogenic training. I had horrible anxiety issues and I used it to help fall asleep. I was also surprised how much my stress levels reduced after doing this a few weeks.

    I hope you can get a good night’s sleep.

What do you think?

