101 in 1001 Update

11 Dec

I have actually tackled some items on my list! I know.  I bet you couldn’t believe I would start tackling things so soon!  If you don’t believe it, you’re right.  I didn’t start it.  My husband came home one day with an EZ Pass for me.  Well one for both of us.  He set it up. He brought it into my car and put it in for me. I literally did nothing.  Except cross off number 34 from my list.  Easiest task ever.  He didn’t even know I was planning on doing it – he just did it for me.  Now the problem will be remembering that I have it and not driving through the ticket lanes at tolls.  We went to visit my family this weekend and I kept wondering why my husband was driving through the EZ Pass lanes.  Glad he remembered.

Being up at my family’s house was also my last hurrah.  Tomorrow the diet begins.  So making strides to cross number 6 (lose 25 pounds) off my list.  My brother, husband and some friends are all in a competition to see who can lose the most weight (percentage-wise to make it fair).  We’re all putting $50 in the pot and winner takes all.  Even if I don’t win, hopefully I win by being able to cross number 6 off the list.  And by looking and feeling better, not to mention living longer.  However, in celebration of our last hurrah and my brother’s birthday, I made him a cake (number 41) and frosted it with swiss meringue buttercream (number 89) which was pretty much the most incredible frosting ever. It wasn’t overly sweet, it was very buttery and it was perfect.  I even decorated the cake all fancy with a different colored frosting piped around and wrote on the cake.  Well worth our last hurrah!

Now that we don’t have any cake left, hopefully I can drop some pounds relatively soon because I may have a chance at crossing number 9 (find a new job) off my list.  I may need my interview suit soon!  I found a job I really wanted to take back in July. But being pregnant and all, I didn’t want to take it because it was a contract so I thought it would be unfair to take a contract knowing I wouldn’t be able to fulfill all the terms of the contract.  I mentioned this to the recruiter and he agreed.  Back in early November, I saw a similar posting through a different recruiter so I figured why the heck not?  I applied for the position and last week I heard back from the recruiter. It’s literally the same job and she says I sound like a good fit (even though it would be somewhat of a career change).  It’s a 1-2 year contract and even if it doesn’t turn permanent it would give me experience in a new field which I’ve been looking for.  Plus it pays a good amount more than my current job! So that helps with the fact that it’s a contract and I wouldn’t get any paid vacation time. I’m waiting to hear back if the company would like me to come in for an interview.  I’m afraid my hopes are up too high but I can’t help it.  It seems like fate that this job would come back into my life.  Please keep fingers and toes crossed and send up a prayer that this could be the opportunity I’ve been looking for! I’m so miserable in my current job.

Speaking of being miserable, I plan on heading back to the infertility support group (number 50) tomorrow.  I’m kind of excited to go this time.  Now that I know what to expect and that I know that the people there are friendly and normal, I feel better about going. I won’t be nervous at all if my husband won’t be able to come.  I know I’ll be able to handle there being on my own if necessary because it was a safe place to go and talk and vent with people who know what this life is like.

Here’s a quick recap of the items that I’m supposed to be doing on a regular basis:

12. Go to church on a regular basis. – Nope. But I do plan to start next week.

28. Practice my dog’s training for 15 minutes every day. – Nope.  I’ve been crashing on the couch every day when I get home!

41. Bake one thing each month. – DONE for December.  Made my brother a birthday cake.

70. Clean for 15 minutes every day. – No way.  See above re: crashing on couch.

80. Walk the dog every day it rain. – Nope. Couch.

82. Start taking my vitamins again. – Kind of forgot about this one. Will start tonight.

100.Update about my status for these goals at least once a week. – DONE, right here.  Hope these updates aren’t too boring for you all but I want to hold myself accountable.

10 Responses to “101 in 1001 Update”

  1. chon December 11, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    held accountable. good job Anna!

    • Anna December 12, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

      Thanks. It all kinda happened by accident but it’s something.

  2. Alissa December 12, 2011 at 1:07 am #

    Great job! Wow. I am still working on my list.

    • Anna December 12, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

      Get going on that! We can motivate each other. 🙂

  3. janet December 12, 2011 at 9:48 am #

    Wow, can you send me a dose of your productivity please? 🙂 I think having an EZPass will be life-changing! Or maybe I just drive to Delaware too much, where not having an EZPass adds a ton of time to the trip.

    Good luck on the job stuff!

    • Anna December 12, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

      Productivity? Its all basically been one accident after another! It’s not like I really meant for any of it to happen. It just did. Still, better than nothing!

  4. Jackie December 12, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    Fingers crossed for the job!

    • Anna December 12, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

      Thanks! Still no call yet!

  5. AJ December 16, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    That’s awesome that you are already crossing off items from your list. If you keep it up, you’ll be done a lot sooner than 1001 days…lol. Thank you for the very sweet comment on my blog. I really appreciated it and it made me feel more normal…well, as normal as any of us are going through all of this. Thanks again!!

  6. Erin W January 1, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

    Do have an iPod? God knows if I didn’t have one, my dog would hardly ever get walked. I listen to music, but also podcasts. Also, most Saturdays (weather permitting) I take her to the dog park and I start listening to a Friday-release podcast that’s usually 45-50 minutes long and neither of us can leave until it’s over.

What do you think?

