Necklace

22 Mar

I bought a necklace to remember our baby.  Number 38 can be crossed off the list.  I bought it on Etsy and had his initial stamped on it.  When it first came in, I thought it was pretty but isn’t wasn’t perfect.  It didn’t have the feeling I thought it would.  Now after wearing it for one day, I realize my first impression was wrong.   It’s perfect.  I felt so close to him wearing it today.  I loved the little jingling noises it made when I moved sometimes.  It reminded me I was wearing it and that reminded me of him.  I love that it has a blue stone.  He died in September so it’s his “birth” stone.  I love the pearl because it makes me think of an angel.   I love that it’s not super obvious what the necklace is.  There is nothing that would cause anyone to ask why I’m wearing it but if you look closely you can see that the initial is not my initial. I love having a remembrance of him to carry around with me.  I wish I had done this sooner.

10 Responses to “Necklace”

  1. Amy March 22, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

    It’s beautiful. I love reading that you love wearing it so.

  2. chon March 22, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

    love this post.
    I am so glad that you did something that is making you happy. xx

  3. FCblacksheep March 22, 2012 at 8:36 pm #

    That’s beautiful. And what a lovely necklace.

  4. Lola March 22, 2012 at 11:05 pm #

    It’s beautiful!!

  5. Alissa March 23, 2012 at 12:31 am #

    I love it very much. I am so glad you did this. I bought this necklace after the twins passed and I haven’t gone a day without it. It’s probably my favorite peice of jewelry besides my wedding ring.

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/85655107/personalized-hand-stamped-sterling

    I love that you can touch your necklace anytime and it gives you peace. I am happy you have that to help.

  6. Detour March 23, 2012 at 6:14 am #

    Anna, the necklace is so beautiful. What a perfect way to remember and honor your son. I’m glad it’s been a comfort.

  7. Chantelle March 23, 2012 at 11:03 am #

    LOVE!

  8. brooke March 24, 2012 at 4:59 pm #

    I remember getting a couple pieces of jewelry with Eliza’s name on it and being worried that people would ask me and I’d have to tell my sad story… It’s been over a year that I’ve worn her bracelet every single day, and no one has ever asked me about it. People who know me commented on it, but my anxiety about wearing it has totally gone away. Like you, I love wearing something that makes her feel close to me.

  9. Living Our Life in Cycles March 25, 2012 at 4:43 pm #

    That is just beautiful. I’m so glad you got something to keep close to you like that!

  10. loveisblonde March 26, 2012 at 11:29 am #

    I am so so happy that you bought this for yourself and that you love it so. I completely understand. I have people ask occasionally, and I’m getting better at telling them without choking up 🙂

What do you think?

