What’s the opposite of doom and gloom?

1 Apr

I hate to sound like every time I post, it’s all doom and gloom.  It’s really not.  It’s not all puppies and sunshine, either.  But I’m doing better.  Slowly, I think I am finding my way back to myself.  I’ve lightened up.  I enjoy things.  My brain doesn’t  automatically go towards feeling terrible all the time.

I went to see the Hunger Games opening weekend. I wore a t-shirt I bought on Etsy (that lets me mark one thing off my 101in100 list!).  I was a total and complete dork.  But I loved every minute of it.  At certain parts of the movie, I was like I get to watch this whole thing – it’s not just a trailer!! I thought the movie was great.  I know there have been many criticisms of the movie but as an avid reader of the books, I thought it was just perfect.

I’ve been doing a lot of baking too.  I made cupcakes two weekend in a row and they turned out perfectly.  I used this cake recipe with this buttercream frosting.   This is my new go to recipe when making regular cupcakes.  The lemon rind in the cake is just perfect.  I made a batch while my sister-in-law, brother-in-law and nephew were over and everyone loved them. My sister-in-law has already requested the same cupcakes for her birthday.

I have a project at work that is going full steam ahead.  So even though I’m utterly miserable there, I have no time to think about my misery.  I just keeping having to work, work, work and by the time the end of the day rolls around, I’m so exhausted, I don’t have the energy to complain as much as I did.

I’m trying my best to put on a happy face.  It’s hard to grin and bear it, but fake it til you make it, right?  I’ve been doing a little shopping and trying to make sure I look nice every day.  That really goes a long way too. Do you hair, put on some lip gloss and hope that the extra jewelry makes a difference!  I hit the outlets today and picked up some cute tops for work.  And I bought some cute flats for the spring/summer and new jeans.

So maybe I’m not the opposite of doom and gloom yet… but I think I’m getting there.

3 Responses to “What’s the opposite of doom and gloom?”

  1. Alissa April 1, 2012 at 11:26 pm #

    A little bit at a time friend. You can do this. We can do this. I think you are doing just fine and shopping certainly helps. I’ve been scouring Etsy too for new items, I love it.

    Keep up the good work!

  2. Detour April 3, 2012 at 7:32 am #

    I’m glad to hear you’re doing a little better. Being busy at work is certainly distracting. I loved the Hunger Games movie, too. Good to hear from you!

  3. Jackie April 3, 2012 at 10:10 am #

    I am so happy to hear you are doing okay. Distractions and doing little things for yourself really help to make it easier 🙂

What do you think?

