Book Club

3 Apr

Number 24 on my 101in1001 list is to join a book club, even if I have to start one myself.  So I’ve been mulling over in my head how to go about starting one.  It seems really timely that I’ve read a few blog posts recently on book clubs.  I’ve been gathering ideas and now I’m trying to gather courage.

My big worry is that no one will come.  What if people are only interested in theory and don’t show up?  Or what if people don’t read the book and it turns into a big gossip session – which I guess there’s nothing really wrong with that but I do really want people I can’t talk about the books with!  Or what if people do come, and do read the book but hate the book I chose and then it all falls apart after that?

I just hate for it to be a failure.  But if I don’t try, then it’s sure to fail.  I guess first thing to do would be to assess actual interest from friends that are local enough to me to want to come.   Baby steps, right?

4 Responses to “Book Club”

  1. heidikins April 3, 2012 at 9:29 am #

    I hope you start one! Even if it’s just 3 or 4 people who are reading the same book and chatting about it I think you will love it. 🙂

    xox

  2. Detour April 3, 2012 at 11:01 am #

    I had the same fears when I started my book club last year. The key thing for me was getting one good friend on board initially, someone I’d like to talk to about books even if no one else came. She ended up recruiting the rest of our regular members. It’s definitely hard to assess people’s interest level–will they actually show up? I guess the good news is that your club can evolve over time, you can always invite more people later on, etc.

  3. chon April 3, 2012 at 7:19 pm #

    I could read from afar? I would love to join a book club!!

  4. FCblacksheep April 6, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

    I would join a book club! You’re not far. But even without me, I think you should start one. I do think you’ll like it a lot and even with just a couple of people, it would be fun.

What do you think?

