NIAW

27 Apr

In honor of National Infertility Awareness Week, I posted the following status on Facebook last night: April 22-28 is National Infertility Awareness Week. Infertility is a heart-wrenching, faith-questioning, relationship-testing, life-altering, finance-draining experience that affects 1 in 8 couples. Please consider supporting the Family Act and the Adoption Tax Credit. (Most of the wording stolen from here.) And I added a link to Resolve’s website where they posted how to get in touch with your Congressman.

This is pretty much about as out as I’ve come about our infertility problems.  I alluded to it in our pregnancy announcement but my husband didn’t want me to straight up say it because he didn’t want me to dwell on the bad while announcing the good.  I’ve only gotten good responses: positive comments and likes.  I don’t know quite what I thought would happen.  I imagined my mother getting angry because certain things should be private.  I imagined people saying that infertility isn’t really a disease.  As usual, my imagination is so much worse than reality.

One Response to “NIAW”

  1. Alissa April 28, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

    I’m so proud of you! That took guts my friend. I don’t know if I’m ready for that, but hope that with more time I can just let the truth out completely.

What do you think?

