My automatic response

13 May

Lately, many people have made comments to me.  They tell me how lucky I am that I don’t have children.   Children are expensive, they suck up all your time and you’re better off not having them.  Obviously, these people have no idea what I’ve been through.  They are making a joke.  I laugh with them.  Hahaha, who could want children?  I want a life with more money and time instead. You’re right.

Then there is always a pause, and I tell them we are adopting.  I automatically laugh at first.  I don’t know why.  I guess I don’t want them to feel awkward.  Then I remember that if I don’t say something, they will make those little jokes to others and those others might be infertile as well.  So I tell them we are adopting.  Usually people are very excited and realize that if we are adopting, there was an issue.  Sometimes someone doesn’t get it and they say oh yes, I would avoid the trauma on my body too.  Then I have to explain that I’m not adopting because I don’t want stretch marks, I already had stretch marks from my pregnancy from my baby that never made it home.

Mother’s Day sucks this year. Again.  I’m praying this will be last without a baby in my home.

4 Responses to “My automatic response”

  1. cinderelly May 13, 2012 at 10:35 pm #

    People who say that don’t know any better. They just don’t realize that those statements can cause pain for others.

    Sorry your Mother’s Day was crappy. Hopefully next year’s will be better.

  2. Mo May 14, 2012 at 11:29 am #

    Urgh, I hate people sometimes.
    Sending huge hugs your way!

  3. FCblacksheep May 14, 2012 at 8:36 pm #

    Understand, smutherstand…I hereby grant you three shin kicks a month. Just pop them a quick one and run in the other direction. Hugs to you.

  4. Nisha T. May 17, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

    People are just so stupid sometimes. I say, make them uncomfortable. Maybe then they’ll learn to have a little sensitivity.

What do you think?

