The Future of Us: Book Review

31 May

I recently read The Future of Us by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler. When I read the description, I thought this book was right up my alley.  I love young adult books.  And it’s about the future.  I love time travel books!

This book is set in 1996 (when I was a senior in high school/freshman in college).  Emma and Josh are neighbors and Emma gets a new computer.  Josh gets an AOL CD in the mail with 1000 free hours so he brings it over to Emma, even though things have been strained between them since he tried to kiss her and she just wanted to stay friends.  When Emma sets up her AOL account, she gets access to her Facebook account fifteen years in the future.  Every thing Emma and Josh do changes their future in some way, from who they marry, to how many kids they have to what kind of jobs they have.

Overall, I loved the idea behind this book.  How awesome would it be to get a glimpse of your future?  And the way Facebook is described is so spot on.  I remember the first time I saw Facebook, I was floored.  What the heck was I supposed to do with it?  Imagine seeing it in 1996 instead when the entire internet was a brand new thing.  I was so amused by their surprise at people sharing the most mundane details of their life.  Now it’s just expected to log on and know what the guy that sat two seats behind you in freshman bio had for breakfast.

The one issue I had with the book was relating to Emma.  Josh was a nice guy and a relatable character.  Emma was just off to me.  I’m not expecting characters to be perfect but she was so selfish and shallow.  It bothered me because I just didn’t care what she did next anymore as long as it didn’t hurt the other characters.  I just couldn’t identify with any of the decisions she made – even her Facebook statuses in the future annoyed me!

If you’re looking for a light read, though, I’d still recommend the book overall.  I loved the idea behind, just wish the main character was a little more relatable.

What do you think?

