Number 9

11 Jun

Number 9 on my 101 in 1001 list was to find a new job.  I have been looking for a new job pretty much since the day I took the job I am at now.  I was laid off back in 2010 when my company was acquired.  It took me six months to find a new job.  I pretty much found one just as my severance was ending.  Don’t get me wrong. I was grateful to find a job.  I know that many people have been or out of work much longer than I was. But I knew from the moment I started that this was the wrong place for me.  I’m not going to go into all the reasons. I’m not here to bash my employer.  I just knew it wasn’t the right fit and I needed to keep looking.

Once I got pregnant, I put the job hunt on hold.  I decided it wasn’t right to start a new job just to go on maternity leave immediately.  I was hoping to renew my search after giving birth to my son and find something new after my maternity leave ended.  We all know how that turned out.  Once I lost the baby, I resumed my hunt.  My ex-coworker got in touch with me and asked if I still wanted out.  There was no question about it. Of course I did!  He explained the opportunity to me and it sounded great.  The perfect transition to the type of career I’m looking to get into.

I submitted my resume, had a phone interview and went in for an in person interview.  I could tell the interview went really well.  They contacted my references a week later and then I got the job!  I accepted nearly right away.  I knew this was something I wanted to and I was anxious to give notice.  My going away happy hour is already planned.  I’m so excited and ready to go!  I think this is going to be a great change for me.  Wish me luck.

4 Responses to “Number 9”

  1. FCblacksheep June 11, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

    How fantastic. So excited. Wishing you lots and lots of luck.

    p.s. I know what you’re saying about accepting a job you’re less than thrilled about. I took my last job because I needed out of the company I was working for (they were going down). I knew from day one it wasn’t for me but hung in for three years. Hope this place is a much better fit for you!

  2. Jackie June 12, 2012 at 9:48 am #

    Congrats!! So happy for you 🙂

  3. Jackie June 12, 2012 at 9:48 am #

    Congrats! So happy for you 🙂

  4. brooke June 12, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

    Congratulations. I got a new job about six months after my loss, and it was a really good move for me. Wishing you the best of luck.

What do you think?

