Books I’ve Been Reading

30 Jun

Jeneration X: One Reluctant Adult’s Attempt to Unarrest Her Arrested Development; Or, Why It’s Never Too Late for Her Dumb Ass to Learn Why Froot Loops Are Not for Dinner by Jen Lancaster

I’ve been a fan of Jen Lancaster’s memoirs for a little while now.  When I read the first one, I immediately downloaded another because I thought she was so hilarious.  I also started reading her blog… and that was my problem with her book.  While it was still quite hilarious, I felt that I had read most of this book on her blog.   Some of the material, I don’t think you would understand if you didn’t read her blog or other books.  So, while I found this book very funny, it was a rehash for me.  If you haven’t been reading her blog, you will probably like it a lot.

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

I heard an interview with Gillian Flynn on NPR and I had read another book by her a while ago, so I was very interested in this book.  This book has many twists and turns.  Nick and Amy are married and living in New York until the both lose their jobs.  They move back to Nick’s hometown in Missouri and Nick opens a bar with his sister.  One day, Nick comes home and his wife Amy has disappeared.  There are signs of a struggle in the living room.  When the wife disappears, who is always the number one suspect?  This story is told from alternating points of view – Nick’s point of view after Amy’s disappearance and old journal entries Amy had left.  In every chapter, I was suspecting someone else and the suspense kept me flying through the book.  It was more than just a suspense filled book though, it was the story of a marriage.  Highly recommend this one.

The Leftovers by Tom Perotta

I have always been fascinated with the idea of the Rapture.  One time, my husband and I were in Target and when we left, the word seemed really empty.  It felt as if the lot had been abandoned even though there were plenty of cars there.  We went to Giant afterwards to do our food shopping and in every other aisle, there were abandoned shopping carts and I swore right then and there that it was either the Rapture or a zombie apocalypse.  Turns out, it was neither. It was just an odd night but that explains why I was kind of obsessed when I heard about this book.  I heard about it a long time ago but never picked it up until I heard a replay of a Tom Perotta interview on NPR (which is apparently where I’m getting my book recommendations lately even though I did not realize it til writing this).  The story follows a small town in the suburbs after a Rapture-like event.  It wasn’t the Rapture though; people from all faiths were taken, believers and non-believers, people from every walk of life.  This book isn’t about the people who disappeared though.  It’s about the people who weren’t taken and their reactions three years later.  Some join a cult where they are not allowed to speak anymore and dress in all white and follow people around to be reminders of the event.  Some follow a religious zealot.  Some just try to move on with their lives and some can never forget those they lost.  It’s being turned into a show for HBO and I can’t wait to see what they do with it! Another highly recommend.

One Response to “Books I’ve Been Reading”

  1. Alissa July 1, 2012 at 5:45 pm #

    I just read The Leftovers and thought it was a very interesting read. I also liked Little Children, which was by the same author. I also have heard of Gone Girl, but haven’t gotten it from the library yet.

What do you think?

