Let’s be friends, okay?

15 Jul

We went to see The Wall… which was awesome, by the way.  Quick side topic before I get into what this post is actually about… I went to see it because my husband wanted to.  He has been dying to see it every time Roger Waters tours.  So when he asked if I would go, I said yes.  Who was I to stand in the way of his good time.  Plus, I’ve listened to The Wall a few times and I liked it enough.  The show was amazing and so much more than I ever imagined it would be.   I had no idea that I’d be so emotionally connected to it either but there were definitely parts that made me tear up a bit.  I feel like now I need to listen to it again and pay far more attention.

But the point of this post was that during the show, there was a couple sitting in front of us.  The woman was around my age and she looked like she was having a great time.  She and her husband were chatting with each other and she looked like she was having a great time.  Her hair was up like something I only see on Pinterest and it looked so freaking cute – a casual but cute updo.  She was dancing around and looked so effortlessly cool.  I just wanted to be her friend.  She seemed like so much fun to hang around with.

Meanwhile, I looked gross and sweaty and hot and my hair was in a frizzy ponytail.  I was hardly dancing, hardly moving actually, because I felt so self-conscious.  Even though the people around me were not looking at me, they were looking at the stage since they probably paid outrageous amounts of money on their tickets.  Yet, I felt like someone might mock me.  I was an eighth grader in our school cafeteria all over again.

So even if I had the guts to talk to her and find out where she lived or find out what she was like to see if we could actually be friends, I would have looked like a complete moron. I would have looked like a complete wallflower who was overly self-conscious of literally every move I was making.

During intermission, I was texting with a friend about this.  My husband saw what I was texting and offered to set up an introduction and  I went into full on panic mode.  No way.  I didn’t really want to talk to her.  That would just be opening myself up to rejection and what if I didn’t look cool enough for her to want to be friends with me. (Trust me, I didn’t.  There’s a picture on Facebook that pretty much proves I’m not.)  My friend jokingly asked whether I had brought my let’s-be-friends business cards.  I kind of wish they made those.  I wouldn’t have had the guts to give it out but it would be a kind of cool idea.

So all that to say, I wish it was easier to go up to people that look like fun and say, “Let’s be friends, okay?”

3 Responses to “Let’s be friends, okay?”

  1. FCblacksheep July 16, 2012 at 8:40 pm #

    1. That girl was me…bahahahahaha..I’m just playing. I’ve never looked effortlessly cool my entire life. I’ve never looked cool period. Except when I’m in a snowstorm (and that joke just proves how not cool I am).

    2. You’re awesome.

    3. I know so many people who went to that concert. Makes me wish I had. Everyone says it was amazing.

    4. At work, we were just talking about how easy it was to make friends when we were kids. You just made friends everywhere you went. No effort required. Everyone got along. If only adulthood were like that.

    5. Next time, you should totally say something. After all, you were both at the same concert, which means you had at least one thing in common.

    6. You’re awesome.

  2. Alissa July 22, 2012 at 2:53 pm #

    Why is it so much harder to meet people now? I feel really shy about introducing myself too…like would I be percieved as weird for approaching a stranger? I guess you have nothing to lose…
    I get it.

  3. Erin W July 30, 2012 at 1:47 pm #

    Hey, Anna! Haven’t been here for awhile, but I’m all caught up on you. 🙂

    I feel this way in public basically all the time. It’s twice as hard when you’re single because you feel an extra need to talk to people (that guy might become my boyfriend if I just introduced myself…) but you feel extra weird being that girl who’s alone. I have sometimes considered taking up smoking because people who sit alone and smoke seem cool whereas people who sit alone and just stare seem CRAZY. Thank God for smartphones for giving us loners something to look at while we are being loners…

    I’m going to a concert (alone) tonight. Maybe I should strike up a conversation with someone on both our behalfs?

What do you think?

