Dear Future Baby

13 Aug

Dear Future Baby,

We finished the adoption application last night.  It took a while to collect all the information we needed.  There were forms to fill out.  We had to ask our friends and neighbors to be our references to tell the agency what a good mom and dad we’ll be.  We had to read through the contracts and policies to make sure we agreed with everything we were signing.  But we did it and it’s done.  And today I’m going to drive over the post office and mail it in. We will be one step closer to you. 

Your mommy is a sap.  In case you couldn’t tell by the fact that I am writing this letter.  And anyway, if you’re old enough to read this, you already know what a sap I am. I cry at commercials (wait – do they have commercials in the future?).  I cry at sad movies and happy movies. I cry when the dog or cat does something really cute.  I cry when I write you letters you may never read because WordPress may not exist in the future when society inevitably breaks down after the zombie apocalypse.  And I’ll probably cry at the post office when they send that envelope off to go a few towns away and into the hands of our social worker.  

I’ll cry with happiness because I am one step closer to you. 

With love, 

Your mommy

2 Responses to “Dear Future Baby”

  1. loveisblonde August 14, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

    You will be a great mama to this future baby. I’m really excited that you’ve completed this next step! Any idea how long it could be from here?

  2. FCblacksheep August 15, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

    Yay on finishing the paperwork! Future baby, you don’t know it yet, but one day soon you will meet the most amazing parents a baby could ever have. Lucky you.

What do you think?

