Let’s beat up on infertiles!

14 Aug

Maeve Binchy passed away at age 72 recently.  She was one of my favorite authors.  She wrote stories mostly set in Ireland, some in current times, some in the past.  She had a way of writing one main story with a cast of many characters, all with their own stories, and managed to weave it all together into one amazing world that you wanted to live in.  It affected me a lot when I read that she passed away.  Every time she published a new book, I purchased it immediately and got sucked into a world where I felt I was a friend and neighbor to everyone in it.  I was sad and was going to post about that. Until this.

I get riled up in my personal non-blog life and curse like a sailor sometimes.  I try not to do so as much on here.  But pardon me if I can’t help myself.  What a fucking bitch.  Basically the point of this article is that she feels that had Maeve Binchy been a mother, she would have had a deeper understanding of human nature and not written so much about relationships between men and women.  Here’s my “favorite” quote:

Binchy, whose first novel was about a 20-year friendship between two women, didn’t need the experience of motherhood to write about love and friendship in a way that charmed millions. But she might have dug deeper, charming less but enlightening more, had she done so.

The emphasis is mine.  She might have dug deeper had she done so?  Seriously, Amanda Craig?  What the fuck? What kind of world do you live in that you don’t realize that sometimes motherhood isn’t a choice? I’m sorry but if you’re going to write an article like that, do a little bit of research.  So that maybe you don’t come off looking like such a cold-hearted bitch when it turns out that Maeve Binchy was infertile.

3 Responses to “Let’s beat up on infertiles!”

  1. Wannabemom August 14, 2012 at 10:22 am #

    You should write to this Amanda Craig. Unbelievable. Let her know that infertiles and babyloss moms have a greater understanding of themselves and the world because we’re not smug fertiles. Let her know that our heartbreak month after month after month allows us to “dig deeper” and vastly changes the way we experience life and value relationships. And then just kick her because she is clearly a smug fertile who never had to think twice about getting pregnant and carrying a child to term.

    • Erin August 15, 2012 at 7:14 pm #

      I agree, in the article she sounded like she thought kids had held back her career and she was trying to justify why she wasn’t as good or sucessful. Sour grapes to me. Ps this is the 21st century you can choose career over children if you want, sounds like Amanda Craig should have.

  2. Elizabeth :: Bébé Suisse August 16, 2012 at 10:10 am #

    I read that article too, on the day of or just after Maeve Binchy’s death, and was horrified and disgusted. How terrible to pick on somebody’s very private and personal pain to support such a baseless theory.

What do you think?

