Home Study Group Meeting Part Deux

17 Oct

We had our second home study group meeting.  Our next meeting will be after our paperwork is submitted and a draft of our home study is written.  That meeting will be the social worker visiting our home and making sure our home is a safe environment.

This meeting was basically a conversation session with the other couples going through the process at the same time.  We shared what brought us to adoption, what we think of open adoption, what our families were like, what we do for a living and what we plan on doing after we have children.  It was basically a way of getting us to think about the answers to our questions for the autobiography.  Then we played a quick little game where we were each given a sheet of paper and the social worker asked a few questions about how we plan to raise our kids – questions about allowance, and dating age, and age of first cell phone and discipline.  We were to answer the questions without our spouse seeing and then compare answers.  I was happy to see my husband and I agreed on most of the questions.  I guess when you plan a family for five years, you cover a lot of ground.

So now we complete the paperwork.  The mountain of it.  We are already behind and I am not feeling the energy to do it.  But the faster I do it, the closer we get so I’m going to log off now and fill out the form that takes the longest to come back to us.  Baby steps.  Wish us luck, Internet!

6 Responses to “Home Study Group Meeting Part Deux”

  1. SM October 18, 2012 at 5:54 am #

    Ooh I cant wait to get our process started! Maybe by the middle of next year if our fundraiser in March goes well. Good luck to you! I’m following every step of the way!

    • Anna October 18, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

      Good luck! Have you had any luck looking into the grants?

  2. Feit Can Write October 18, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    Don’t worry about being “behind” in the paperwork. It’s not like if you don’t have it in by X date all of the cute babies will be gone. Your perfect little one will be there whenever you climb that mountain.

    Speaking of paperwork, I saw a poster on another blog that I wish I would have seen during our homestudy days: http://feitcanwrite.wordpress.com/2012/10/18/keep-calm-and/

    • Anna October 18, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

      You’re right. There will still be plenty of babies left. But to stay on the timeline that the agency has laid out, we have to have our paperwork done by the 5th of November. We have six months total to complete the home study but to stay on their schedule, our deadline is coming up and we are very behind. I did see your post and am totally reposting that poster on my blog as a reminder. Now that I started filling out the forms, I feel like I can do it – one baby step at a time!

  3. brooke October 18, 2012 at 11:15 am #

    Good luck! There’s a real benefit to being type A when it comes to paperwork.

    • Anna October 18, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

      Very true. I vow to use my type A powers for good. 🙂 I made myself a to do list and have crossed off 2 out of 21 things on it. Progress!

What do you think?

