One form at a time

25 Oct

Through Feit Can Write, I found this awesome poster on wonderment, etc:

I pretty much want to wallpaper my house with this right now in the hopes that it will keep me motivated to keep going and keep filling out the forms.  I know it seems insane.  I want a baby so badly.  We’ve tried for five years.  I went through bloodwork and painful testing and multiple fertility treatments on medications that made me miserable.  I’ve gotten this far in the adoption process.  There is no doubt that I want to be a mother and I want it more than anything else.

And yet, I still find myself lacking motivation to fill out these damn forms.  I think it’s the same issue that kept me from filling out the application.  It still seems so unfair to me that I have to do all this and prove myself to be fit to parent and then wait for someone to choose me to parent their child while people who are completely not ready for parenthood get pregnant so easily.

I have to remember that fair or not, this is my reality.  And complaining about it being unfair isn’t bringing me any closer to a baby.  So I need to get over myself and just do it.  One form at a time.

7 Responses to “One form at a time”

  1. SM October 25, 2012 at 9:33 pm #

    That has to be the worst twist this whole adoption thing has. People get knocked up all the time without having to fill out a million forms or prove that they can be a good parent. What makes adoption so much different?

  2. chon October 26, 2012 at 6:02 am #

    All the forms are so frustrating. I want to say bad mothers generally get knocked up by their abusive boyfriends where as good mamas adopt.

  3. Erin October 29, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

    I like that motto. And I agree it’s annoying you have prove you’d be a good parent. Infertility blows

    • Anna October 30, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

      Yes it does. I understand why they make you do it but it feels unfair when you feel like they are totally invading your privacy.

  4. Alissa October 30, 2012 at 8:13 pm #

    That’s right. One form at a time and before you know it, you are done. Head down and push through.
    I also hate how much adoptive parents have to go through when a 16 year old can be a parent on accident and suck at it.

    • Anna October 30, 2012 at 8:40 pm #

      Thanks for the motivation!

  5. thisismorepersonal (Jen) November 7, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

    Head down, darling! Find your favorite pen and sign on the dotted line. It’s not fun, it’s not fair, but it’s our lot. You can do this. And you don’t even have to like it. 🙂

What do you think?

