Thanksgiving

21 Nov

I hate to be a grinch (or whatever the Thanksgiving equivalent of a grinch is) but I’m not feeling very thankful this year.  Despite the fact that I have things to be thankful for (my family, my friends, my pets, my health, a good job, my new iPad that my husband bought me for my birthday) I am feeling crabby and ungrateful for these wonderful things.  I’m focusing on the negative instead of accentuating the positive.  I need to get out of my funk.  In the meantime, here are two videos that made me smile despite my funk.

In this first video, this couple elopes to Paris and their friend films their trip and wedding and made this amazing video.  It made me wish I had done something similar.  And it made me want a pair of nude pumps since my dog chewed my last pair.

 

This second video just made me feel happy about people.  There are good people in this world.  Even if I was confused about what the heck they were doing for the first half of the video.

 

Hope those put a put a smile on your face like they put one on mine.  Happy Thanksgiving to you all. xo

5 Responses to “Thanksgiving”

  1. chon November 23, 2012 at 6:04 am #

    Happy thanksgiving. I hope you’re ok xx

    • Anna November 25, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

      Thank you! I survived which is pretty much as good as I had hoped for. xo

  2. Erin November 25, 2012 at 10:24 am #

    I say feel how you feel. If you don’t feel that grateful, you have a pretty good reason to feel that way. It won’t last forever, and it will get easier with time. Maybe next thanksgiving you will be more in the spirit. Thinking about you.

    • Anna November 25, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

      I think my therapist would agree with you. I keep beating myself up because I had good things that other people don’t have and I should be happy for that. But my therapist says that we have to let ourselves feel what we feel and if we’re not comparing ourselves to other people about the good then we don’t need to be doing it about the bad.

      • Erin November 27, 2012 at 5:59 pm #

        I know how you feel. I can give good advice but I don’t always take it! I love to beat myself up too. I’m working on it slowly but surely. Besides losing a child is a pretty big deal so even though you have things that others dont you still have a lot of reasons to not be grateful.

What do you think?

