‘Tis the season

30 Nov

I figured out what my problem is.  When I get online, I go onto Google Reader and read all my blogs (like 20 million of them) and sometimes if I’m feeling ambitious, I comment on them.  By the time I’m done with all that, I have no energy to think about writing a blog post.  So from now on, I got onto my blog first and post.  But only if I have something to say.  I’m not great at posts when I have nothing to say.  They end up being two sentences and not worth anyone’s time to read!

So… at my husband’s workplace, they did one of those charity, adopt-a-kid for Christmas things.  My husband volunteered which meant that it was my job to run out and buy the gifts and wrap them.  I went out shopping for it last night and I may have gone a little overboard.   I filled up the shopping cart with the requested things on her list (plus extras) and I bought her Sponge Bob wrapping paper because she loves Sponge Bob and it was just a little bit much.  But that’s what happens when you’re infertile.  I don’t have my own kids to spoil rotten so I spoil my godkids and friends’ kids.  And I buy everything that this little girl wanted and more because I don’t have my own little girl’s shopping list.

There were adorable kids all over the store, of course.  They was a two-year old there who had blond hair and blue eyes and he looked so sweet.  Somehow seeing toddler boys breaks my heart more than seeing baby boys.  It’s the future I imagined for my baby and that he never got to have.  I just wanted to take that little guy home but of course he already had a mom and dad that idolized him.

As I was driving home, I had slight cramps.  I’m pretty sure that I was ovulating.  What timing. Basically, a trip to the toy store makes me want babies so badly that it makes me ovulate.

After I got home, I wrapped the gifts and there was a huge pile.  I hope that this little girl loves the things I chose for her and has a very merry Christmas.  And I hope that by  next year I’m on my way to having a little one of my own.

14 Responses to “‘Tis the season”

  1. FCblacksheep November 30, 2012 at 9:35 pm #

    You’re amazing. You made that girl’s Christmas. As soon as she sees the wrapping paper and all those gifts, she’s going to go crazy. She doesn’t even know it, but she’s super lucky to have you. I hope next year, you’re filling up your cart for your own little one.

    • Anna December 1, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

      Thanks. I hope so. That’s what my husband said. He said that once she sees the SpongeBob paper she’ll know that “Santa” knew just what she likes.

  2. Brooke November 30, 2012 at 11:28 pm #

    I hope you make that little girl’s Christmas magical. And I hope next year you’re doing the same for your own babe.

    • Anna December 1, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

      Thanks. Me too.

  3. chon December 1, 2012 at 8:30 am #

    I feel flattered you comment!

    You are gorgeous. You’ve made someone happy even when you’re sad. Takes a big person to do that xx

    • Anna December 1, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

      Thanks. It was pretty fun shopping for all the things. I just wish they were staying in my house.

  4. Robin December 1, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

    That’s so sweet! I can’t even bear to shop for kids stuff these days. I ordered all my nieces and nephews the first thing that popped up on Amazon. And I also hope that next year you’re shopping for a child of your own.

    • Anna December 1, 2012 at 4:08 pm #

      Oh my gosh. How selfish of you not to put any thought into those gifts! What will people think? 😉 I think that’s the best thing to do. Buy the gifts to keep the family quiet but do it in a way that is going to keep you sane. I know last year I did the same thing.

  5. Amy December 2, 2012 at 8:22 am #

    I think it’s a huge thing that you can do this for a little girl you don’t even know. I would have probably told my husband to go do the shopping and wrapping his damn self, because that takes an enormous amount of putting an unknown person’s wishes before your own comfort. I think this at least doubles the good vibes you’re putting out there into the universe – may they come back to you tenfold (and soon!).

    • Anna December 2, 2012 at 10:32 am #

      I kind of wanted to. Especially since he volunteered for it and then I sent him a ton of Amazon links for stuff so he could order gifts and he didn’t do it, which necessitated the last minute trip to the toy store. But then I figured my husband would probably buy the most random things and that little girl is better off with me shopping for her.

      • Amy December 2, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

        Definitely. 🙂

  6. NGS December 5, 2012 at 10:32 pm #

    Oh, it’s so hard to think about others who have so many needs this time of year when I am surrounded by more than enough. That little girl will always know that someone took the time and cared about her! Thank you for that.

    • Anna December 7, 2012 at 5:35 pm #

      Thanks. I hope her Christmas is awesome.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Crossing things off the list « Supposed to be my symphony - January 6, 2013

    […] Done.  I thought of her Christmas Day.  I hope she loved the gifts. […]

What do you think?

