You don’t have to do it right. You just have to do something.

4 Dec

I was directed this amazing  blog post by another blog I read.  And the message really hit home to me.  Here is an excerpt from the post that I loved:

When we are presented with moments of crisis, large decisions or new opportunities often we find ourselves crippled by the lack of knowledge. We justify inaction with our insecurities in not knowing the right way to move forward. Or we trap ourselves in an endless search for knowledge to attempt to reassure our actions.

My friend and I used to have a philosophy that we called the Nike philosophy.  Just Do It.  You know what needs to be done deep down inside but things hold you back.  You have anxiety about how it will turn out.  You don’t feel like it. You’d rather be doing something fun but less important in your life.  Doesn’t matter.  Just do it.  You know what needs to be done. You’re just waiting for a time when you’re forced to do it.  It’s going to get done eventually anyway in one way or another so get up off your ass and save yourself the heartache and just do it.  Don’t get bogged down in endless research.  Don’t get bogged down by fear or anxiety.  Just. Move.  If it doesn’t work out, then fix it later but for God’s sake, don’t sit still.

This worked for exactly two weeks and then we got lazy and we would remind each other, “Nike… come on. Just do it.”  But the magic was gone.  The novelty had worn off and we didn’t feel like it anymore and we fell into our old traps and our old routines.  We tried to keep each other accountable but when both of you fall off the wagon, it’s impossible to motivate each other.  It’s easier to rationalize the eating of bad food and the putting off of major life decisions.

Anyway, I’m trying to recapture a little of that old plan and am hoping it sticks around for longer than it did last time.  I see other people’s lives and I think how the hell do they have the time? How do they get it all done?  Am I just seeing the Facebook/blog version of their lives that they want me to see?  Or is this how their life is?

Anyway, I’m making progress and doing things.  For example, in the past few days I:

  • took pictures of the pets for the Christmas card
  • chose a design and ordered Christmas cards
  • completed both our state criminal background checks
  • registered us both for fingerprinting
  • got my fingerprints taken
  • completed another section of my autobiography
  • participated in an online adoption support group
  • took one work trip and am about to take another
  • had a therapist’s appointment
  • watched an episode of Sister Wives and judged them silently (and not so silently when I complained to my friend about how all the  wives hate each other)

And what’s funny is that I felt like I hadn’t gotten a lot accomplished, like I could have done more but seeing it all spelled out, I got a lot done.  So just think of what I could be doing if I was just doing something instead of watching Sister Wives!

So, since the Universe doesn’t give me gold stars, all of you tell me what a good job I’ve done by getting more adoption stuff done.  I’m a people-pleaser and getting gold stars motivates me. Even if the Universe is a huge bitch with a chip on her shoulder and doesn’t want to hand them out.

Please note:  this in no way means that I will stop watching Sister Wives.  Despite the fact that they all hate each other and are incredibly catty to each other, they all say plural marriage is the right thing and they want their kids to do the same.  You have to love the drama generated from a situation like that.

14 Responses to “You don’t have to do it right. You just have to do something.”

  1. SM December 5, 2012 at 12:40 am #

    Sister Wives is a secret obsession of mine. Those women are all crazy!

    I’ve always preferred to keep moving and doing something. That’s one of the reasons we’re cycling until we can start the adoption process in March. I just can’t not do anything to get a closer to a baby. One track mind I suppose.

    • Anna December 5, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

      Totally agreed about SW. I read a summary of the SW book and it just reaffirmed their craziness in my mind!

      I agree about keeping moving but sometimes the constant moving gets exhausting. I think that was my problem. I just got tired.

  2. Robin December 5, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    I thought that list was pretty huge, so nice work! I like this mindset. I am such a procrastinator, but feel so much better when something is finally done. Now, if I could get off my computer and just clean my bathroom already.

    Love Sister Wives. It’s fun watching them secretly hate each other but then tell the world how great plural marriage is – I’m definitely sold. 🙂

    • Anna December 5, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

      Thanks! It’s really hard to get off the computer sometimes so I get it.

      We need to start a book club but for watching Sister Wives, I think. 🙂

  3. Feit Can Write December 5, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

    While not a gold star per se, Hopefully me clicking the Like button (which has a blue star) will suffice.

    Good job on moving forward with the adoption stuff. Instead of looking at it as some massive skyscraper to scale, think of each little thing as a flight of stairs, moving you ever closer to the goal (or some other analogy that isn’t quite so forced).

    • Anna December 5, 2012 at 10:04 pm #

      Thank you for my blue star! The universe doesn’t even give those!

      I agree. It’s like taking baby steps from What About Bob?

  4. brooke December 5, 2012 at 1:17 pm #

    Oh, mercy. I am fascinated by Sister Wives but I don’t let myself watch the show. Because if I start I will never be able to stop. I’m so jealous of people who watch the show, though. Lucky.

    And seriously, great job on your adoption stuff and the rest of your list. I love to make after-the-fact to-do lists (or, I guess, already-done lists) to admire everything I’ve accomplished! You rock at life right now.

    Your Just Do It philosophy is one I try to adopt also. But I find that sometimes what slows me down is fretting about things that haven’t happened but might. So I also try to focus on what I can do right now and let the Future Me worry about what’s happening later. It sounds so stupid, but it helps me stop obsessing. (For example… I’m dreading Christmas at my in-laws, but fretting about it now won’t help. So I’ll just let Future Brooke handle it in the moment. She’s capable.)

    • Anna December 5, 2012 at 10:09 pm #

      Oh my gosh, just give in and join us SW watchers. It’s so addictive. But it’s sad to see them and how much they dislike each other.

      Hmmm… I might have to start letting Future Anna deal with things. I wonder how capable she is.

  5. amourningmom December 5, 2012 at 10:24 pm #

    Very impressive list! I need to borrow some of that just do it attitude (there are things on my to do list that might have been there for all of 2012. . .). Sending you virtual gold stars. Take care.

    • Anna December 7, 2012 at 5:34 pm #

      Thanks for the gold stars! I definitely have things that have been on my to do list the entire year too!

  6. Erin December 8, 2012 at 7:52 am #

    I used to watch sister wives but we don’t have cable anymore. 😦

    • Anna December 9, 2012 at 8:11 pm #

      Ugh! I wish there was somewhere you could watch them online.

  7. Alissa December 8, 2012 at 12:30 pm #

    Slow and steady my friend. You can do this and you ARE doing this. Keep checking things off the list and before you know it, you’ll be finished.

    • Anna December 9, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

      Slow and steady wins the race!

What do you think?

