2012 Year In Review

30 Dec

1. What did you do in 2012 that you’d never done before?

Got fingerprinted. Selected an adoption agency.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I didn’t really officially make any resolutions last year.  I never seem to keep them, so why bother? I guess I should resolve to blog more.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Everyone on Facebook.  And possibly Twitter as well.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

No, thankfully.

5. What countries did you visit?

None. Between planning for an adoption and changing jobs, we didn’t even take a vacation.

6. What would you like to have in 2013 that you lacked in 2012?

A baby.

7. What dates from 2012 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

February 1st.  It was my due date.

June 26th.  The day I started my new job.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Getting a new job.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Not completing our adoption paperwork before the end of the year.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Nothing besides a cold.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

I didn’t buy it but I got an iPad for my birthday and it’s awesome.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

Fourth year in a row: my husband’s.  I’m not sure how he stays married to me given my constant mood swings.  But I’m grateful he does.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

Mine.  In many ways, I’ve given up on caring about so many things.  It just makes me sad.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Mortgage, bills.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

My new job.  I was so happy to be out of my crappy old job and in a far better place.

16. What song will always remind you of 2012?

Call Me Maybe.  I couldn’t move without hearing that song somewhere.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you: a) happier or sadder? b) thinner or fatter? c) richer or poorer?

Happier (but barely), fatter, same.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Traveling, seeing friends, exercising.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Worrying. Stressing. Crying.

20. How did you spend Christmas?

Christmas Eve my in-laws at our house.  Christmas Day with my family.

21. Did you fall in love in 2012?

I stayed in love.

22. What was your favorite TV program?

I discovered The Wire – many years late – but it was awesome.  It kept me company on many work trips and there were many days I went to work bleary eyed because I wanted to watch just one more episode.

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

No.

24. What was the best book you read?

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn.

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?

None.

26. What did you want and get?

A new job.

27. What did you want and not get?

A baby.

28. What was your favorite film of this year?

I haven’t seen it yet. I am planning to go tomorrow unless the snow keeps us at home (I’m writing this on Friday evening) but I’m anticipating it will be Les Miserables.

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I don’t even remember.  How sad is that? I know my family came over the weekend before for lunch.  34.

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Having a  baby at home.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2012?

Whatever fit.

32. What kept you sane?

My husband.  My family. My friends. My husband. My dog.  My therapist.  My husband.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

No one new this year – same old faves. Jon Hamm, John Krasinski, Anderson Cooper, Ryan Gosling, etc etc etc

34. What political issue stirred you the most?

The entire election.

35. Who did you miss?

My baby.

36. Who was the best new person you met?

A new friend my therapist put me in touch with.  She’s adopting as well so it’s nice to chat with someone in the same boat.

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2012.

You have to keep moving.  Standing still just increases the level of pain.

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

And the tears come streaming down your face
When you lose something you can’t replace
When you love someone but it goes to waste
Could it be worse?

– Coldplay

8 Responses to “2012 Year In Review”

  1. Alicia December 30, 2012 at 12:09 pm #

    Thinking of you today. 2013 will be better – you are making moves and healthy choices that will ensure you are happy and ready for your baby. I wish things weren’t sad for you and that February 1 had been the day you brought your baby home. Don’t beat yourself up about the adoption paperwork… I did too and it was fruitless. And you know what? It all got in and we are moving forward… Slower than I’d anticipated (I had us mentally scheduled to be on the waiting list by December 1… We’re not even close but we’re closer than we were before). Hang in there. You’re one year closer to bringing your baby home forever.

    • Anna December 30, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

      Thank you. That made me feel better to hear that. We are sitting down today to figure out what needs to be done still and to make a to-do list so we get it in on time for the agency’s deadline so I’m hoping to feel a little bit better about it by the end of the day.

      • Alicia December 31, 2012 at 5:13 pm #

        All the paperwork will get in… Don’t put too much pressure on yourself. It will all happen at the right time do that you get a perfect match. 🙂

        • Anna January 1, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

          I know, but our agency does have a deadline for when the paperwork needs to get done so that we are on track for the next steps and I’m getting worried we won’t meet it!

  2. Robin December 30, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

    Random question – does Gone Girl have anything baby-related in it? I was going to read it but then a friend told me it wasn’t the best thing to read right now. But then I just read the synopsis and didn’t see anything that would make me uncomfortable.

    • Anna December 30, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

      Um, not really. At least not that I recall. I mean, it’s not the cheeriest book and it’s a very dark storyline so maybe that is why she was saying that?

  3. allmyprettyones December 30, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

    I hope 2013 is better for you, and for me. Really, how could it get much worse? Anyway, thank you for coming over to my blog so that I can now read yours.

    • Anna December 30, 2012 at 3:43 pm #

      I’m thinking of you. I know everyone experiences grief differently but I remember that pain so well and I can tell you that it does get better. I know you probably wouldn’t think that from reading my blog but I typically blog when I have something I need to work through. There are many days when I laugh and have fun. It will never be the same as it was but it does get better.

What do you think?

