A list and some babbling

4 Jan

Things that are already done

My Autobiography
Reference Letters
State Criminal Background Check
State Child Abuse Clearance
FBI Criminal Fingerprint Clearance
Copy of marriage license
Both our verification of employment letters signed

 

Things that are almost done

Husband’s autobiography
Financial Form and proof of assets/debts

 

Things that still need to be done

Sign home study contract
Sign discipline policy
Sign HIV policy
Fill out adoption questionnaire
Physical for me (Monday) and husband (Wednesday)
Photocopy pay stubs and W-2 forms
Print out copies of resumes
Fill out bankruptcy form
Photocopy mortgage
Take pictures of diplomas
Fill out foster parent form 
Fill out disclosure form
Fill out guardianship form
Photocopy insurance cards
Print out Social Security Statements

 

Wow.  That’s a big list.  Granted, many of these forms are just forms that need to be signed.  Some are check the box that says “no, we have not declared bankruptcy” and sign.  Or, “no, we’ve never been foster parent” and sign.  And photocopying is super easy. (The Anna-meister – making copies!)  So it wont be so bad. (I hope.)

Other things I need to do this weekend

Not get sicker
Buy baby shower gift
Go to baby shower (and live through it without sobbing)
De-Christmas my house
Mountain of laundry 

 

I’m pretty sure I need a longer weekend.  Oh and I just had to have my boss reschedule my yearly evaluation because he originally scheduled it during my physical and I couldn’t reschedule my physical because I’m also traveling to Florida for work this week.  This man must think that I’m dying of about 40 diseases.  Literally every time I have a doctor’s appointment (and I’ve had a few recently – mammogram, two dermatology appointments and now this) something comes up at work and I have to say no.  I made him a promise I would have no more doctor’s appointments til May.  He sounded fine with it but I hate hate hate doing that.  I just keep running the conversation over in my head and hoping he doesn’t hate me now.

Yup, that’s what I’m doing.  Instead of working that giant list above.  Yeah, going to ask the doc for a refill on those SSRIs when I’m there on Monday. In the meantime, I’m going to go read a bunch of blogs in order to best procrastinate starting my to-do list. Happy weekend!

8 Responses to “A list and some babbling”

  1. Erin W January 4, 2013 at 10:11 pm #

    It really is a marvel the stuff good people have to go through to adopt a kid, when there are so many fertile idiots out there having ’em willy-nilly. That could make anyone cynical. You sound in good spirits, however! Good luck with the baby shower.

    • Anna January 5, 2013 at 10:42 am #

      Thanks! It’s a lot but I see why they do it. There’s enough idiots out there having kids on their own. They don’t want to put kids in a situation like that just because the idiot has money. It’s still annoying though!

  2. Alicia January 4, 2013 at 11:34 pm #

    Awesome list!!!! You can do it! It will all get done – prioritize, rank and do the big stuff first. Drop things if you have to and be ok with it – you’re making a family happen here! Good job. 🙂

    • Anna January 5, 2013 at 10:42 am #

      Thanks. As I started to look at it, it’s really not as overwhelming as I first thought. I think I just needed to get it organized and on paper.

  3. Mo January 5, 2013 at 6:15 am #

    Anna. The Ann-meister. Anna roni. Shanna Anna ding dong.
    Ok now that I’ve got that out of my system. Looks like you’re getting your shit together. Good for you!

    • Anna January 5, 2013 at 10:45 am #

      Oh I love that I’m not the only one that enjoyed that reference. Literally, any time that I go to my photocopy, this is what goes through my head over and over. Shit is very nearly together. At least on the adoption front. I can’t speak for the “I haven’t had a haircut in six months” front or the “my entire upstairs looks like a tornado went through because I’ve only been focusing on keeping the house look presentable for company and I just don’t allow people to go upstairs” front.

  4. SM January 5, 2013 at 2:47 pm #

    I got PTSD type flashbacks while reading this. I’m glad you’re getting all of your paperwork together! One step at a time!

    • Anna January 5, 2013 at 4:01 pm #

      Thanks! I will be so relieved when it is in and out of my hands!

What do you think?

