Another type of party to break an infertile’s heart

5 Jan

There is always the fear of receiving a baby shower invite but I feel like other people’s pregnancies can be a minefield lately with gender reveal parties.  How many parties can a poor infertile have to avoid?  Then I read this article and I feel sad for any infertile that gets invited to a party like this.

People are having ultrasound parties.   They pay for an ultrasound technician come in and give an ultrasound while your family and friends sit around and watch.  I’m sorry.  As an infertile, the thought of being invited to such a party gives me a sick feeling in my stomach.  Even as a fertile person, who would want to go to something like this?  I can’t imagine how awkward it would be to sit around someone’s living room and watch their ultrasound.  Aren’t ultrasounds one of those things that only parents really enjoy watching, like a dance recital.  You only go if your kid is in it.  You wouldn’t enjoy it if your kid wasn’t there.

I just don’t understand who the women are that do this.

9 Responses to “Another type of party to break an infertile’s heart”

  1. Wannabemom January 5, 2013 at 10:52 am #

    That’s really weird. I would unfriend that obnoxious fertile immediately.

    • Anna January 5, 2013 at 10:54 am #

      I just don’t get who would want to do this??

  2. Alicia January 5, 2013 at 1:24 pm #

    Wow. The gender reveal party is a new concept to me – let alone ultrasound party? WTF?

    • Anna January 5, 2013 at 3:25 pm #

      I haven’t been invited to a gender reveal party but I have seen plenty of photos of them on Facebook.

  3. Robin January 5, 2013 at 1:37 pm #

    If this catches on, I think I’ll throw up. I would never, EVER go to such a thing. Besides, I would have such anxiety because I, of course, would assume something would be terribly wrong with the baby and everyone would find out at the party.

    • Anna January 5, 2013 at 3:28 pm #

      That’s what I was thinking – if something goes wrong then everyone is staring at you during one of the most horrible moments of your life. They say that they make sure the baby is healthy before hosting one of these parties but still you never know. It’s just so weird. I wouldn’t invite my entire family to see my root canal. Why have them over for an ultrasound?

      • Anna January 5, 2013 at 3:28 pm #

        Maybe root canal was a bad example – I wouldn’t have them over to view my dental xrays.

  4. FCblacksheep January 5, 2013 at 9:25 pm #

    This is awkward. I was totally planning a pap smear party. I guess I won’t be sending you an invitation. 🙂

    I can’t believe how ridiculous people are. You are pregnant, not splitting the atom. I wouldn’t be surprised if the next big thing is a conception party. All the guests wait in the living room and high five you as you leave the bedroom.

    • Anna January 5, 2013 at 10:16 pm #

      Well, actually, this is awkward. I actually did have a conception party. I went to a doctor’s office and they inserted the sperm with a catheter and there was a waiting room FULL of people just sitting out there while it was happening. Oh no, wait. That was just an IUI. My mistake.

      Honestly, though, it’s getting a bit crazy with all the different parties. Although I may just be a little bitter that I won’t be able to have a baby shower til after the baby is here so I’m just jealous of all the parties a pregnant woman can create!

What do you think?

