International Blog Delurking Week 2013

7 Jan

I know. I totally owe you all a post on where we stand on the paperwork.  It’s coming.  Spoiler alert: it’s good.  But I don’t have time or energy right now so I’m totally copping out on you guys.

Apparently it’s International Blog Delurking Week.  Who decides these things? Anyway, so delurk.  Now, dammit.

To prompt you all to say hello and because I need suggestions (this really is all about how it’s going to benefit me – you all might as well face that) I will give you a question to answer.  Actually you get a choice of questions but you can answer both if you want.

1 – I need suggestion for books to read.  Hit me. Tell me what book you just read that was so awesome you wanted to buy it for everyone you know.

2 – I know not everyone is a fan of books.  Hopefully you like tv then.  I have been catching up on old tv series lately.  I watch them on the treadmill and often late into the night because I just have to see what happens next.  I just did The Wire.  Now I’m doing Battlestar Galactica.  What should I do next?

36 Responses to “International Blog Delurking Week 2013”

  1. SM January 7, 2013 at 7:58 pm #

    Well, I’m not really one of the lurkers but I have book and television show suggestions! Books: Gone Girl is absolutely ahmazing (actually anything by that author is good)! Beautiful Creatures is another good one. It’s about to be a movie (which will probably suck eggs) but the book was fabulous. As for television shows, I just got done with Breaking Bad. Spectacular show! Loved it!

    • Anna January 7, 2013 at 9:14 pm #

      Non-lurkers are welcome too, of course!! Loved Gone Girl! And I’ve read Sharp Objects but not her other book. I will have to add that to my list. What is Beautiful Creatures about? will have to check it out.

      And good call about Breaking Bad! I’ve been dying to watch that!

      • SM January 7, 2013 at 10:27 pm #

        Beautiful Creatures is about forbidden love and witches! I’m not usually into that kind of stuff but this was pretty good! Another good show is Sons of Anarchy. I’m watching the 4th season now! I saw that you liked Dexter and I have to say that is my favorite show!

        • Anna January 7, 2013 at 11:00 pm #

          Ooh – that sounds pretty good!

          I have heard good things about Sons of Anarchy and heard an interview with Katie Segal (or however you spell it) that piqued my interest.

          • SM January 7, 2013 at 11:21 pm #

            If you’re interested in Breaking Bad and you like Dexter then you’ll like Sons of Anarchy!

        • Anna January 8, 2013 at 7:02 pm #

          OMG, just saw a commercial for Beautiful Creatures! Looks good!

  2. Mari January 7, 2013 at 8:34 pm #

    I read “The Journey” for Advent and liked it. The book I read a couple years ago and then gave out as gifts was “1000 Gifts.” For TV I’m in the middle of watching “The West Wing” on Amazon Video. So good.

    • Anna January 7, 2013 at 9:21 pm #

      I will check both those out.

      And The West Wing! Great idea. I wanted to watch that and never did. I watched The Newsroom last season and everyone said it paled in comparison to The West Wing. Thanks for the tips. 🙂

  3. Brooke January 7, 2013 at 9:10 pm #

    I’m reading Wild Girls by Mary Stewart Atwell. It’s super good.

    Have you already done Downton Abbey? Love it.

    WAIT. STOP EVERYTHING. Have you watched Veronica Mars? Please watch it and then e-mail me to thank me later. 🙂

    • Anna January 7, 2013 at 9:27 pm #

      I just read the description at Amazon and pretty much stopped when I saw that she attends some place called Swan River Academy. I’m in. Sounds like my kind of book.

      Downton Abbey is on my list.

      And yes yes yes to Veronica Mars. I actually just did a rewatch recently by DVRing it off the Soap channel. But those bastards. I somehow did not DVR the episode of Veronica and Logan’s first kiss which is like the most awesome episode ever. “Dream on, Jump Street.” And then he kisses her. And then she goes to the car and looks up at him. Oh … I’m such a Logan fangirl.

  4. Wannabemom January 7, 2013 at 9:41 pm #

    Not a lurker either, but ti read: The Passage by Justin Cronin and to watch: Dexter. Best show ever.

    • Anna January 7, 2013 at 9:46 pm #

      Oooh, The Passage looks interesting! I will have to check it out.

      And I’m a big Dexter fan! I love what they did with this season since I thought the last few seasons were kind of missing something.

      • Wannabemom January 8, 2013 at 4:11 pm #

        I know!! I totally “binge-watched” the entire season in about 3 days.

  5. Alicia January 7, 2013 at 11:23 pm #

    Books – Tuesdays with Morrie and The Alchemist

    TV series – Arrested Development

    • Anna January 8, 2013 at 6:37 pm #

      Read both. Love AD and looking forward to the Netflix debut!

  6. dspence January 8, 2013 at 9:25 am #

    I’m here! I’ve been into autobiographies for the past few years. My top two are:

    Japan Took the JAP Out of Me (http://lisafinebergcook.com/). A newlywed moves to Japan with her new husband, finding her way through a new marriage and a new country.

    Summer at Tiffany (http://summerattiffany.com/). Two college friends head to New York during WW2 for a summer job that will change their lives.

    • Anna January 8, 2013 at 6:39 pm #

      I loved Summer at Tiffany! Will have to check out the other book. Thanks. 🙂

  7. Amy January 8, 2013 at 10:20 am #

    I’m obsessed with Anna Karenina, rereading it now (the movie was awesomesauce, too, if you haven’t seen it yet).

    TV, I’m always way behind, too. LOVED The Wire. Did you ever watch LOST? That was good…what else….hmmm. I know I’m forgetting series that we got into….Six Feet Under, The Sopranos, of course, um….crap! I may have to let my brain try to digest and come back when I remember what I can’t believe I’m forgetting….

    • Anna January 8, 2013 at 6:41 pm #

      I’ve never been able to get into the Russian novels. Maybe I will try again.

      Loved Lost and Six Feet Under and Sopranos. I’m a sucker for for all HBO shows. 😉

      • Amy January 8, 2013 at 7:19 pm #

        Oooh, then maybe start with Crime and Punishment? I “had” to read it in high school, and was actually excited to read it again in college. Got me addicted to the whole genre, though I’ve yet to work up the courage to actually start War & Peace. Someday, perhaps.

        Yeah, good stuff! Also, sorry for basically copying your idea for IDW, but this question is a damn good idea for it! 🙂

        • Anna January 9, 2013 at 10:02 pm #

          Ugh, really? I read C&P in college for a class and did not like it. Maybe I was too young to appreciate these things before?

          And no need to apologize. I feel like I need to do this all the time! People have come up with great ideas!

          • Amy January 10, 2013 at 9:41 am #

            Hahaha…probably just me being strange that I like the dark Russian novels. Not going to be everyone’s cup of tea, surely!

            • Anna January 10, 2013 at 11:45 am #

              Or it could be me! These are classics for a reason and clearly I don’t have refined taste. I watch Honey Boo Boo for God’s sake!

              • Amy January 10, 2013 at 11:57 am #

                lol…gotta have the highbrow and the lowbrow. I certainly am not above some good trash TV!

                • Amy January 10, 2013 at 12:02 pm #

                  Er, or trashy novels, etc. Mixed up my media, there! 🙂

  8. Robin January 8, 2013 at 10:42 am #

    Books — The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling (I loved it but a friend of mine thought it was just ok). I’ve always loved East of Eden (if you haven’t already read it). If you like dystopian novels – I recommend the Matched series and Divergent series. And some others – I’d Know You Anywhere by Laura Lippman and Freedom by Jonathan Franzen.

    TV — Gilmore Girls? I watch that show over and over again, its my fave. I also like Big Love, Weeds and Entourage.

    • Anna January 8, 2013 at 6:43 pm #

      Hmm. I’ve been thinking about The Casual Vacancy. Reading the premise, it just doesn’t appeal to me but some people really like it and some people don’t. I might have to give it a try.

      No wonder we get along! I love Matched and Divergent. Have you read the Delirium series too??

      And love Gilmore Girls. I wish I lived in Stars Hollow. Weeds and Entourage are getting added to my list.

      • robinvandalson January 8, 2013 at 6:52 pm #

        I actually thought The Casual Vacancy sounded boring as well, but ended up loving it.

        I haven’t read Delerium yet, but I will soon, thanks to you. 🙂

        Stars Hollow! And I want to drink Luke’s coffee everyday too!

        • Anna January 8, 2013 at 6:55 pm #

          Me too. And they all those stupid town events. I would love to go to those. It’s like they have nothing else to do other than set up the town for Founder’s Day events. I want that to be my life. 🙂

  9. Amy January 8, 2013 at 12:42 pm #

    Yes! Big Love rocks, as does Weeds, and Breaking Bad is seriously kickass. Oh! and Mad Men, for sure.

    • Anna January 8, 2013 at 6:43 pm #

      Mad Men! Love Mad Men! I wish I lived in the past!!

      • Amy January 8, 2013 at 7:20 pm #

        I know…I love it too, and almost every episode I think, jeeeeez, modernity is such a pain in the arse. 😉

  10. Jen January 9, 2013 at 8:07 pm #

    Just read ‘The Perks of Being a Wallflower’ – quite amazing (and a quickish read). It’s a little like a modern day ‘Catcher in the Rye’ but darker, and with a bit of a surprise. Now I’m reading ‘The Witches Daughter’ which has really sucked me in!

    Hmm… TV – I can second ‘Dexter’ and ‘Sons’ and absolutely ‘Downton Abbey’. As a fallback, I got hooked on ‘The Vampire Diaries’ even thought I’m not mad for vampires (having said that, I’m a mad ‘Buffy’ fan, but more for the clever scripts and hilarious dialogue.

    • Anna January 9, 2013 at 9:59 pm #

      Thanks for the suggestion re: Perks. I’m a big Catcher in the Rye fan. A Salinger fan in general, actually so it sounds like I will like this. I will check it out.

      I’m a huge Buffy fan! And a huge Vampire Diaries fan. Mostly because I’m a Damon fangirl. I swear I’m 12 years old sometimes.

  11. Elizabeth :: Bébé Suisse January 19, 2013 at 1:16 pm #

    Hello again! I’m not a lurker, but I don’t think I’ve commented in a while, although I’m always wishing you well.

    From the above suggestions, it sounds like you’re set for life, almost … but here’s my two cents. I just read, and gave as Christmas presents, Innocent Traitor and A Dangerous Inheritance by Alison Weir, a Tudor-period historian who also writes gripping, well-researched novels. I couldn’t put them down and neither could my happy recipients!

    • Anna January 19, 2013 at 2:24 pm #

      Thanks for the suggestions! I will check them out.

What do you think?

