Mission accomplished!

8 Jan

Well, we did it.  We were up late putting the final touches on the paperwork. There may possibly have been some double, triple and quadruple checking of paperwork.  I might have been a touch over-cautious making sure that each document was in the folder.  My husband dropped it off and even got a picture of our social worker as he handed it to her.

I had my physical yesterday so it got submitted with the paperwork.  It went fine aside from the doctor telling me I’m fat.  (Thank you, Pot!  Love, Kettle.) He wrote me a note that said I’m fit to parent and sent me on my way with the instructions to eat more vegetables and exercise more.  Thanks, doc!  That was enlightening.  My husband has his physical tomorrow so he will mail his paper in for that as soon as it’s done and that’s it.  All our paperwork is submitted.

So now we wait.  They will write a draft of the home study and then schedule our home visit. I will fly into a full-fledged panic again and you will all get to hear about it right here.  Stay tuned.

23 Responses to “Mission accomplished!”

  1. Feit Can Write January 8, 2013 at 9:19 pm #

    Congrats! Getting the paperwork out is one of the biggest hurdles, so you’re in great shape.

    Don’t sweat the home study. Both of ours were a breeze. Think of it as getting to know a new neighbor: A (fairly) nice person comes over and you sit and chat for an hour or two. Then you walk her around your house, and send her on her way.

    As long as you don’t have a big box of knives on the floor of the nursery or exposed wiring over the crib, you’ll be fine.

    • Anna January 8, 2013 at 9:29 pm #

      Thanks! She basically said she’s looking for smoke detectors on each level of the house (and we have the world’s most sensitive ones so score on that front) and a fire extinguisher in/near the kitchen. And then obviously anything else that might be damaging to a child. I think we’ll be ok but that doesn’t mean that I’m not going to become a crazed person obsessed with cleanliness and baking a batch of cookies for the nice social worker. 🙂

  2. SM January 8, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

    Congrats! I’m nervous about the homestudy too. Ours won’t be until late March/early April. One step at a time, right?

    • Anna January 8, 2013 at 9:30 pm #

      I just expect my house to look perfect and I have to realize that won’t happen and yet that will still be ok. I figure if I was able to assemble all that paperwork though, I can whip my house into a Pottery Barn like environment.

  3. Lisa @ hapahopes January 8, 2013 at 9:50 pm #

    Congrats, Anna! Sounds like you are plugging along and doing well!

    • Anna January 8, 2013 at 10:26 pm #

      Thank you!

  4. Alicia January 8, 2013 at 10:13 pm #

    Yay!!!!!!! Awesome job!

  5. Alicia January 8, 2013 at 10:15 pm #

    Oh and I think it’s so sweet you guys got a photo at the application hand in! Love it!

    • Anna January 8, 2013 at 10:29 pm #

      As we were going through the process, I kept taking random pictures. I took a picture of me putting our application into the program in the mail. I took pictures of me sending the envelopes for criminal background checks. Just ridiculous little things. Then last night I took a picture of the list of items they needed with everything checked off and a picture of the pile of paper that was days worth of work but looked pretty small in the end. So when my husband handed her the folder, he was like I know Anna would like a picture and she was an awesome sport. Even gave a thumbs up in the picture. So cute.

  6. Robin January 9, 2013 at 9:36 am #

    Yay! Congratulations! Also – I dread my physical every single year because I can see my BMI inching up and I know I’m going to get called out for it. Getting older sucks. Plus, I see no reason to get into shape if I’m possibly going to be pregnant ever again in my life.

    • Anna January 9, 2013 at 9:56 pm #

      I’m just annoyed by fat male doctors pointing out the obvious. No shit, I’m overweight. I had no idea that was a bad thing. It’s not like every tv show, movie and magazine cover gives me any clue about it.

  7. YeahScience! January 9, 2013 at 11:42 am #

    Wow, it’s all happening!! Congrats! Now you just have to sit and wait, right? I guess it’ll be much like the 2WW except worse? Or maybe better, actually…

    • Anna January 9, 2013 at 9:57 pm #

      Worse in that it’s longer than two weeks and I have no idea when it will happen. Better because I know that eventually there will be a baby at the end of of that wait.

  8. Alissa January 9, 2013 at 7:35 pm #

    You are in the zone and doing great. I am so happy you have gotten this far. Congrats!

  9. allmypretty January 10, 2013 at 4:14 pm #

    My homestudy was a breeze as well. I cleaned every square inch of my house beforehand, including closets that haven’t been organized or cleaned in decades… and I was a bit disappointed that it wasn’t nearly that thorough. They checked my water temp, and it was definitely too high! So make sure you check that with a thermometer beforehand. They also measured the square footage of each bedroom. Even though I’m licensed for infants, they did not require me to “baby proof” cabinets or drawers, even though I definitely planned to do it. I also had to put an alarm on my doors, since I live on a lake!

    Good luck, it’s a fun but long process!

    • Anna January 13, 2013 at 11:41 am #

      Thanks for the tips. They told us we were not required to baby proof so that is a relief. They just said they need to make sure that the house has no major health issues.

  10. FCblacksheep January 10, 2013 at 9:53 pm #

    Awesome! Congratulations! Stupid doctor. Cute about hubby taking a pic.

    • Anna January 13, 2013 at 11:42 am #

      Thanks! He is a dumb ass doctor but he’s actually pretty good and doesn’t give you a hard time about refilling prescriptions for SSRIs like some other docs do.

  11. whisperingwriter January 11, 2013 at 3:11 pm #

    Yay congrats!!

    • Anna January 13, 2013 at 11:42 am #

      Thank you!

  12. wymsel January 16, 2013 at 3:20 pm #

    So excited for you. It’s nervewracking I know.

    • Anna January 16, 2013 at 5:41 pm #

      Thanks!

What do you think?

