Oops

11 Feb

So, yeah. Normally after an extended absence, I come here and make my excuses. “Oh wow, I did not mean to be away from the blog this long but I’ve been busy/things are crazy/excuse excuse excuse.” And I mean it but only sort of. Because usually I’m busy watching ABC Family shows and too lazy to think of anything interesting to write and just want to veg out in front of the tv while mindlessly reading gossip blogs where I don’t have to think about posting a comment on someone’s blog or writing a new post. Because those things would require for me to be able to string words into a sentence and who has the energy for that?

This time I’ve seriously been BUSY. February 1st set off a tidal wave of busy. I left work that Friday and came home and went into crazy cleaning mode. We scrubbed our house from top to bottom. There were multiple trips to Lowe’s. We moved furniture. We cleaned out the basement and garage and the “junk room” which will one day be our nursery. We hung pictures and reorganized the linen closet and the hall closet. By Monday, I was ready to collapse into a heap from exhaustion but couldn’t because the social worker was coming for our home visit. OUR HOME VISIT. It was finally here!! THE DRAMA.

After our all our hard work, the tour of house took five minutes. Would you believe she had no idea that we had moved the bookcase from the office into the living room? Yeah, I was shocked too. Seriously, though!!! What was I thinking? We could have just cleaned normally. There was no need to hang pictures, move furniture or clean out my hall closet which she didn’t look into because, “I’m not going to look in your closets! That’s not necessary.” Oh sure, yeah, I totally knew that. I was just cleaning out all my closets for fun. Not because I was afraid you were going to open them all up.

Then on Tuesday, I went into work for the only day that week and had an insane day because I knew it was my only day in the office. Wednesday we were in the agency to talk about our profile book and video and what we needed to do for that. Thursday, I was traveling for work. I had to take two flights to get to Oklahoma City so that was eight plus hours of traveling. I get into my hotel, go to check in for my flight home on Friday to learn it was canceled due to impending snow. Spend all Thursday night trying to get on another flight nearby and booking a train home because we were supposed to film our video for the agency on Saturday.

Friday morning, the weather report changes again and my boss advises I get the earliest flight home possible. I find a direct flight to the DC area but it left earlier than I planned to leave. I have to rush through the training I was in town to give and raced to the airport where I met the only rude person I encountered on my entire trip – the gate agent. There was one gate agent for that airline in the entire airport (after security) and he was “busy” so I had to wait and he couldn’t ensure I was going to get on that flight. Despite the fact that I had plenty of time to get on. Finally he helped me. (My eyes were watering at this point so I think he was afraid I might cry.) He got me on the flight. I took a cab to the train station and took a train home. I made it home just as the snow was starting to get bad and then woke up to NOTHING. That’s right folks. The roads were fine by the morning. I think we got like 2 inches of snow. Thanks for canceling my flight for that!

Best of all: after landing in DC, after all that effort to get home, I learned that the video meeting was canceled and moved due to snow.

After that week, all I wanted to do this weekend is rest. I lay in bed and watched Downton Abbey on my iPad and we had dinner with friends and we saw my sister-in-law and her family and I read a book and snuggled with my dog and I could not even think about writing anything or doing anything that required too much thought or energy.

So now I’m back. Our home study isn’t officially “approved” yet but our part is all done and we are working on our profile now. I’m sorry that this was not well written in the least . It was kind of just a brain dump but I figured I might as well just start writing because I’m still not back to the coherent thought part of my life yet. Maybe tomorrow?

18 Responses to “Oops”

  1. SM February 11, 2013 at 10:47 pm #

    Congrats on your home study being done!!! Woohoo! We should know by next week when ours will be. It’s all so exciting!

    • Anna February 12, 2013 at 12:44 pm #

      Thanks!! Good luck with yours. Ill be thinking of you.

  2. Rhonda February 11, 2013 at 11:48 pm #

    Crazy stuff!

    • Anna February 12, 2013 at 12:44 pm #

      I know! So happy things are slightly more normal this week.

  3. chon February 12, 2013 at 5:01 am #

    Yay yay yay I am thrilled that things are moving along! You’ve been very in my thoughts this month and I am very glad that the start of the month was occupied with positive things xxx

    • Anna February 12, 2013 at 12:45 pm #

      Thank you. Been meaning to comment on your blog but its been nuts. But I’ve been thinking of you!

  4. Alicia February 12, 2013 at 10:52 am #

    I love this post – it made me laugh. I totally get the crazy cleaning and organizing and THE DRAMA. Awesome!

    On the upside of your frenzy – you are more settled in than you were before, which, for me anyways, makes me feel more ready to bring a baby home.

    Sounds like we’re going to be “expecting” around the same time hey? Eek!

    Good luck with the video!

    • Anna February 12, 2013 at 12:49 pm #

      That’s true. We needed to do some of this stuff before the baby anyway so at least it’s done! I’m glad ill have someone to endure the wait with.

  5. Feit Can Write February 12, 2013 at 11:26 am #

    Not sure what your agency recommends/requires for a profile, but I would highly recommend Joanna from ourchosenchild.com. She is an adoptive mom (so she gets it), is a breeze to work with, and produces AMAZING results. She did both of our profiles, and we were blown away with how great they looked.

    I cannot recommend her highly enough.

    • Anna February 12, 2013 at 12:50 pm #

      Oh my gosh. I’ve seen so many companies that make such blah impersonal looking profiles. These are great though! Thanks for the link!

      • Feit Can Write February 12, 2013 at 1:25 pm #

        I probably should preface this with some sort of “results not typical” disclaimer, but we sent out our profiles on a Friday and received a call the next Tuesday.

        While we’re obviously wonderful people (he typed modestly) I think having a profile that stood out from the others really helped our cause.

        • Anna February 12, 2013 at 1:26 pm #

          Well if I don’t get a call in less than a week, I’m coming after you!! 🙂 I’m definitely sending this site to my husband to look at.

  6. Kathy February 12, 2013 at 3:27 pm #

    Sounds like you passed with flying colours ! Your cleaning story was so funny and totally something I would do (I should say have done when we were getting a home check to adopt a rescue dog) All the prep will save you time later !

    • Anna February 12, 2013 at 6:05 pm #

      Yeah, we did the same when we rescued our dog. But went above and beyond for this visit!

  7. Cindy February 12, 2013 at 10:00 pm #

    I haven’t read your blog in a few months and it was so wonderful to see that you just did your home study (plus I had to go back and read what I missed). I smiled thinking of you and your husband running around like crazy probably wiping down surfaces (like outlet covers) that you haven’t thought of since you moved in. Of course she wouldn’t notice that your house would have passed a military inspection. (I cleaned this way once when my MIL came to visit. She spent all of two minutes in our living room.)

    • Anna February 12, 2013 at 10:13 pm #

      I haven’t cleaned my baseboards in FOREVER but they are all clean right now. 😉

  8. Alissa February 13, 2013 at 11:25 pm #

    Whew! I am sweating for you! I am so glad your homestudy is over and you are moving forward. This is big stuff. At least it gave you a reason to clean like a mad woman. I always think that when we have company coming over. I don’t HAVE to do this, but it’s a good excuse because my house needs it.
    Thinking of you.

    • Anna February 14, 2013 at 7:42 pm #

      Thanks! I’m relieved too. And it was a good excuse to do all the little things we had been putting off.

What do you think?

