Things that are making me smile right now

12 Feb

I’m having the kind of day where I’m having flashbacks to things that happened in the hospital when I was losing the baby.  These days are tough because no matter how hard I try, I cannot drive these thoughts from my head.  I can’t turn them off so the most I can do is try to distract myself for a few minutes at a time.  Here are somethings that are working today.

Thing number one: Maya Rudolph singing Home (the Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes one, not the Phillip Phillips ones) with Paul F. Tompkins.  I love this song and this entire video just made me smile and clicked replay immediately.

 

Thing number two: The Disney animated short Paperman.  I’m a sucker for a cartoon love story.

 

Thing number three: Things Fitting Perfectly Into Other Things. A Tumblr of things fitting perfectly into unrelated objects.  It is oddly entrancing and I can’t stop looking.

Thing number four: This happening on the New Girl.  If you  haven’t seen the last two episodes, do not click on that link.

Thing number five: The fact that The Leftovers is being developed into a tv show by HBO by Damon Lindelof.

Hoping maybe one of those things on that list makes someone out there smile too.

17 Responses to “Things that are making me smile right now”

  1. chon February 13, 2013 at 5:15 am #

    The maya Rudolph clip totally made me smile!! Couldn’t look at new girl link because new season hasn’t started!!

  2. chon February 13, 2013 at 5:15 am #

    The maya Rudolph clip totally made me smile!! Couldn’t look at new girl link because new season hasn’t started!!

    • Anna February 13, 2013 at 10:42 am #

      Ah it’s a trade off. I get New Girl earlier than you but you get Marian Keyes earlier than me. 🙂

      • chon February 13, 2013 at 5:34 pm #

        ha ha ha! very true 🙂 i can ship you an illegal copy if you want!

        • Anna February 13, 2013 at 6:06 pm #

          I’m tempted. But I think I can wait til April. 🙂

  3. Robin February 13, 2013 at 10:39 am #

    First, I love that link to the New Girl “situation.” And second, I have those days too, although mine are normally all at night and keep me awake.

    • Anna February 13, 2013 at 10:43 am #

      Ugh, I hate those sleepless nights. Taking my meds right before bed does help me fall asleep though.

  4. YeahScience! February 13, 2013 at 11:58 am #

    Omg LOVE that Home song… and Maya only makes it better. Also totally agree about Paperman — saw it last week and was weeping profusely by the end of it, but in a good way of course. Makes me so happy that 2D and CGI animation can be friends. 🙂

    • Anna February 13, 2013 at 5:57 pm #

      Just reading this comment makes me want to watch both videos again. I think I will. 😉

  5. allmyprettyones February 13, 2013 at 1:55 pm #

    My “thing” was Game of Thrones. Every time I watched a new episode, I was in a totally different world, and those terrible thoughts were on pause for a while.

    • Anna February 13, 2013 at 5:58 pm #

      I did the same thing with Arrested Development while I was on leave before I went back to work.

  6. Ladyblogalot February 15, 2013 at 1:20 am #

    I love number three in a Tetris kind of way. I love stuff fitting together perfectly. And what Marian Keyes is coming out in April? Tell me tell me tell me! I have only just read Mystery of Mercy close, is there another one? is there? Is there???

    • Anna February 15, 2013 at 7:44 am #

      Nope there isn’t another one. That one isn’t coming out in the US til April. Sorry to disappoint.

  7. Alicia February 16, 2013 at 11:03 pm #

    I super love that song Home!

    • Anna February 18, 2013 at 10:49 am #

      Me too!

  8. Erin February 17, 2013 at 10:29 pm #

    Things fitting into other things is oddly compelling…

    • Anna February 18, 2013 at 10:50 am #

      Isn’t it? I couldn’t stop looking.

What do you think?

